December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Mystery of Yrevoc Sid

by 31eee384 - Competition Entry

Controls:
WASD for movement (need to download the executable jar for this to work on linux.)
Q to zoom the map.
T to open the inventory
E to suck nearby items into your inventory.
Control to puke a weak robot
Left click to use your left hand
Right click to use your right hand.
- Clicking in the inventory drops/picks up items, outside the inventory results in shooting.

Goal (for now):
Run around the map, destroy the walls if you want, and kill the occasional enemy. You can dual-wield, so use this to your advantage.



Intro:
(A little heads-up: this game is nothing like I wanted it to be. So this is is basically meaningless.)

Yrevoc Sid--a planet within the Goldilocks zone of its mother star. Circa 2031, humankind turned its telescopes to examine it. Life, it appeared, existed (and perhaps even flourished) on this world. It boasted an atmosphere identical to Earth's, and water lay across nearly seventy percent of its surface. Scientists began planning missions to investigate this planet, with the ultimate goal of determining just how much life there was. But the third World War interrupted this potential discovery.

All research was diverted to the various war efforts. Invented were vast numbers of missiles, satellites, and firearms. Yrevoc Sid was soon forgotten. It was by lucky chance that the nuclear phase-out program had been completed two months prior to the war's beginning; humanity could have easily made itself extinct. After the resolution of this three-decade war, a global government was formed. What was once military technology was now pointed to the stars.

Lush, wild planets were quickly found. They were more plentiful than any pre-war scientist had ever dreamed. However, one thing that was never found was sentient life. No planet showed any signs of civilization. Therefore, it entered the common wisdom that humans were the only species to bear this remarkable trait.

After decades of this era of faster-than-light space travel passed, a researcher had a hunch. Back on the now insignificant, war-torn Earth. A man by the name of Robert Case had found the records of Yrevoc Sid. Case observed a discrepancy--recent scans of the planet had revealed very little water, and absolutely no signs of life. He found it odd that a planet should seem so lush before the war, but truly be so barren. Obviously, a research grant would never be issued to persue a trifling misalignment like this, so the researcher set out on his own, unfunded and under the radar.

Robert Case returned to humankind a hero.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Community3.73
#67Fun3.06
#70Coolness8%
#89Innovation3.06
#90Graphics3.11
#118Overall2.82
#130Humor2.10
#164Theme2.76
#175Audio1.38

Comments

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:34am

Stunning idea! My only complaint is the lack of sounds. And it needs more enemies! Even so, good stuff!

Endurion says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 12:40pm

Awwww dang. After reading the intro text I was ready for an immersing game. Looks like a very promising start though!

31eee384 says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 3:20pm

Yeah, sorry about that. I didn't really have time for the pathfinding, doors, etc. that would really make the plot possible.

(And just so you know, first thing I did after the compo was decrease the size of the map by making the hallways narrower. I think it really helps it feel more... explorable.)

Devenger says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 6:03pm

Graphically impressive, and some real potential in the established elements (inventory and item pickups are very slick), but perhaps too ambitious for an LD game? Certainly worth finishing; I'd love to see this game with a variety of weapons, enemies and objectives.

jagttt says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:30pm

Camera, movement, shooting and particle effects are so good. Just need a random enemy generator and it will be a lot of fun.

arielsan says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:45pm

Why the hell I cant play the applet on linux?? I was about to say "great you have applets, Java ftw!!", but now I will have to eat my own words :(
Also, I was about to try the jam version, to be a more polished version instead, but cant because there is no downloadable jar for that one.
Even tough, like the camera, movement style and graphics. I have played a lot the linux version and I found no enemies :( and no nothing...
Well, tell me if you fix and update the jam version to work on linux, so I can try it and change my rating.

31eee384 says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:56pm

Ok, I uploaded a jar version of the jam entry for linux. I had to disable sound, though, because it was making the game crash.

Unfortunately, the html applet still doesn't work on linux. Stupid keyboard focus.

Danik says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:38pm

This has great potential.

arielsan says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:40am

Nice, tried it again, really like the action and the way you open a path shooting the walls.

You should ask in javagaming.org about the focus problem, I also have some java applications (using webstart instead of applet) without keyboard focus problems, that could help too.

Changed my rate now that I played the game well. However, I cant rate the audio.

good luck.

joekinley says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 8:37pm

It was a nice game. Great idea that you started there. Unfortunately you were out of time to make more enemies and a major goal.

Controls are kinda hard on my notebook but i got it working. Great huge world you got there. I ended up running up most of the time, firing through the walls and finding the end. I thought I had it, but then it went further on the sides.

No music there to be rated. I can see the theme would have fitted in there. Overall a nice little start of a game.

randomnine says ...
Dec 23, 2010 @ 9:11pm

Obviously more of a tech demo than a game, but it feels pretty good! I hope you continue with this and make it into what you wanted :D

dertom says ...
Dec 25, 2010 @ 2:37pm

Nice one! It is really fun to destroy all the walls! To bad there are so less enemies! Nevertheless good game!

localcoder says ...
Dec 26, 2010 @ 4:57am

It was fun running around shooting robots and carving through the walls. It's good to hear that you going to keep working on this.

Squax says ...
Jan 7, 2011 @ 2:58pm

I didn't find any enemies, but I had fun shooting out the walls!

kurtwaldowski says ...
Jan 9, 2011 @ 5:03am

Nice potential!! Was surprisingly entertaining.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]