December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Solaris Prospectus

by frr171 - Competition Entry

Pilot your ship around the universe to discover planets and other celestial bodies. Find all of them to win, but keep an eye out for hostile aliens!

Up/Down = Thrust/Brake
Left/Right = Turn Ship
A = Shoot
Hover over planets to regenerate shield.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Audio2.45
#121Coolness4%
#140Theme2.91
#180Fun2.23
#182Graphics2.36
#188Humor1.62
#201Overall2.18
#212Community1.50
#221Innovation1.82

Comments

Ryan says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:20am

Not bad. It could be a bit more interesting. I like the wrap-around and the scrolling star field. The ship also looks nice.

Epskampie says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 6:24am

Pretty fun,the paralax effect is nice indeed. Its very easy to win by aiming your ship left and slightly upward and just keeping forward pressed for a minute or something though.

deepnight says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 1:20pm

A little goal, except than shooting bad guys, would be welcome :) The parallax works pretty well. The warp of the map borders is invisible, but the ennemies disappear when you go past it.

Dec 20, 2010 @ 8:35pm

I don't know why exactly, but I was super disappointed that the enemies blew up in a nice explosion, but I didn't. Good work on finishing the LD!

jagttt says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:17pm

The bgm is still looping over my head now, very catchy one.

Endurion says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 4:12pm

Fun for a short time. The star field looks weird with the still standing stars (looks like dust). Make them a tad darker maybe ;)
The wrap around is annoying to program, but it's weird when you wrap during a fight and the other objects are suddenly gone (and vice versa).

plams says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 8:25pm

It's not really possible to outmaneuver enemies. If the ship didn't stop without thrust it'd be possible to strafe them, and then it'd be much more fun.

Sos says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:20am

This music......

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 6:02pm

I found it interesting however you can win by just holding down the button and circling until you find everything. The enemies seem a little eager and you can get swamped very easily. The audio is pretty bad. It was really boring to listen to after a couple of repetitions. The graphics are also kinda weird, I didn't expect the stars to travel with you as you moved.

Not bad but needs more of a hook.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]