Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 19

December 17th-20th, 2010
Theme: Discovery

More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

Back to Browse Entries

Gyroids - X-0ut - Competition Entry

Complete with 8 minutes left!

Use arrow pad or aswd to control player.
Collect all crystals and return to mother ship.

F1 to enter edit mode, keys F2 -> F11 do various stuff.

View X-0ut's journal. | View all entries by X-0ut

Ratings

#17Graphics3.85
#72Overall3.19
#72Fun3.00
#77Innovation3.15
#119Humor2.17
#170Audio1.44
#172Community2.10
#187Theme2.46
#201Coolness0%

Comments

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:33am

Great game! The controls are quite frustrating, though.

jcurrie33 says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 2:12pm

I agree, this is a great little game, with cute graphics. I think the controls are frustrating because it is pressing up does not equate to moving up on the screen. Perhaps a better control scheme would be to use the Numpad, and then you can properly map the diagonals, as well as using up to truly move upwards. Great work though!

jcurrie33 says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 2:16pm

As I mentioned in my other comment, excellent work, just try using eight buttons for the controls so you can acurately map the diagonals.

ranklar says ...
Dec 20, 2010 @ 10:46pm

Ok, I really REALLY wanted to like this game. I thought the game could have been really good, it was just eh. So I gave a good innovation score, fun was 3 because it was really hard to control, and I spent 90% of my time playing falling off the edges. If you did some testing, you either have good reflexes or just ran out of time to change the sensitivity. Graphics were nice and colorful, but not outstanding. No audio or humor so low scores there, only one post so low community.

Overall a nice game with some really nice potential. Another game that destroyed my submission, nice job mate.

ladron says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 3:22am

Love the marble madness look. Gameplay is hard, but that's ok since there is no penalty for dying.

You should definitely continue working on this - I think it has a lot of potential.

Smudge says ...
Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:30pm

Great game! I could happily spend quite some time collecting all the crystals with perhaps two adjustments. First the controls, a ssomebody said you might want to map it to the numpad for diagonal directions. Secoindly, sound, add some! =]

Other than that, this has to be the best entry i've played so far, and about the 10th one I've played, good job!

Dec 22, 2010 @ 3:53am

I, too, wanted to like this. The control scheme is kind of weird.

Numpad would have been worse for me, as I don't actually have one.

The graphics are very nice, but the gameplay is so-so. Very frustrating. :(

With some tweaking, this could be an awesome game. It has a lot of potential. Please keep at it :)

Entar says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 4:08am

Nice graphics, nice concept, but the controls are a little tough.

randomnine says ...
Dec 22, 2010 @ 8:19pm

Wow, that's tough! Pretty solid, but I had to give up after about 20 gems. Stopping the gyro on a single square after a climb was just a bit too tricky for me.

Jonny D says ...
Dec 24, 2010 @ 2:31pm

That was great! I don't know about these other guys, but I found the controls to be perfect for the game. Marble Madness gives you a choice between 45 and 90 degree controls, but Snake Rattle 'n' Roll didn't and it still worked well. It's awfully floaty, so it's tough but different than controlling a marble. I also didn't totally get the link to the theme.

Terry says ...
Dec 26, 2010 @ 8:37pm

Hah! Really well done, though a complete nightmare to get used to the controls for me (are they they opposite direction to spindizzy, or am I just imagining it?)

Endurion says ...
Dec 29, 2010 @ 9:02pm

Impressive, a quite faithful remake of Spindizzy!
Alas you also remade the annoying controls ;)
The most prominent problem is that the isometric directions seem to be turned 90 degrees than the common approach. A few screens seem not to match up.
Still, for 48 hours this is most impressive.

hyperlogic says ...
Jan 1, 2011 @ 2:27am

Nice retro, early 3d look. Very slick.

Tom Francis says ...
Jan 2, 2011 @ 9:44am

Nice look and feel, well-made for the time. Wise move to have no death penalty. When I stopped playing, it was when it felt overly fiddly to control my movement precisely.

alexlarioza says ...
Jan 9, 2011 @ 11:04pm

Very frustrating, but if the controls were improved, this would be great.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:50am

Freaking awesomely difficult! That cussing red-purple room in the North! I spent 20 minutes trying to get that one then I accidentally quit and I haven't the heart to start over yet. A few suggestions though: put green lines on the divisions that mark room transitions or delineate them somehow; add to difficulty of some room by creating blocks you can't respawn on; add other types of blocks with special effects (fans? magnets?). This could be a very popular game with a little work!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:52am

Ignore others' complaints about the controls. That's what makes it fun. Skill and finesse, people.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]