August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Super Collide-Em-Up

by Draknek - Competition Entry

Mouse to move. Don't let the asteroids hit Earth!

Created with FlashPunk using Box2D for physics. Rendering done partially with FlashPunk and partially with the Flash display list for no good reason.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Fun3.57
#33Humor2.88
#36Innovation3.45
#40Coolness15%
#45Graphics3.43
#45Overall3.19
#91Community2.64
#128Audio1.42
#148Theme2.38

Comments

Henry Blank says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 1:00am

Small, but fun and well polished. Well done !

devinmoore says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 6:12am

Awesome concept, great graphics for the concept, movement with a trackball is killer, the only complaint is that I wanted more, but that's a good thing. I feel that this is scaled appropriately for the spirit of the contest.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 11:00am

Good production values graphic and polish wise. It's also fun to play for a while, after which it gets boring cause there are only asteroids incoming.

mwest says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:01pm

A very fun and well polished game - well done!

I gave you some humor points for the super indestructible ship that shrugs of hits from asteroids that would kill millions like water! :P

I marked down a bit on theme adherence: it doesn't really feel like I'm using enemies as weapons, because hitting an asteroid with another doesn't destroy it - especially as the game speeds up I'm just blocking asteroids frantically... there's no real benefit during the latter half of the game to hitting other asteroids.

Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:48pm

Great graphics, great physics, fast action. Amazing job. I love the death toll population numbers! I wish the asteroids would actually break up when hit. Overall, an excellent game.

Diet Chugg says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:36pm

Kill earth... wait am I playing this wrong?

pdyxs says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 2:06am

I love the sheer ridiculousness of this game - well done! Really well polished (though it definitely could have used sound) and a bucketload of fun. As has been noted, its not the best in terms of adherence to theme, but a really solid entry.

Oh, and the earth hurtling through space was an awesome touch.

Aug 24, 2010 @ 8:52am

Sweet and simple! I love the idea of the Earth's population instead of a standard life meter. Good fun, imaginative and humourous. An intelligent use of the physics engine that's incredibly easy to pick up and play. Top stuff!

My one suggestion would be to make the score values more round (like 1000, 5000, 25000 or something), to make it more obvious how well you're doing. At the moment the scores just look like a jumble of digits. Also it would be nice if getting large combos easier. I love games where you can get large combos ;) Perhaps you could make the screen twice as wide, and then you'd have a lot of room for asteroids to appear and lots of space to ping-pong them off each other. Some nice feel-good combo noises wouldn't go amiss either :P

A wonderful little entry! Small but perfectly formed ;)

Meep says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 6:36pm

A nice game but it didn't seem to fit the theme very well, as it wasn't mandatory to deflect asteroids into the other ones. You could simply fly into them all individually.~ It was moreso using yourself as the weapon.

Spooner says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 7:11am

Loved the game, but "Enemies as weapons"? It was a lot harder to knock asteroids into other asteroids than it actually was to knock them yourself (and it was more often that I pushed an asteroid into earth than pushed it away, when I tried to do this).

Brought back happy memories of playing the Nuclear War card game. Only 30 millions dead? Ha, I shrug it off!

rale says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 9:11am

Nice game, but this game doesn't really fit to the theme of this times ludumdare.

Doches says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 9:44am

Polished, and with a really slick aesthetic. I love it -- just the right amount of whimsical!

moop says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 8:01am

This was great fun. The theme was tenuous but that's okay it's the end result is what counts. Graphics were nice and polished, the game play was simple but fun and frantic. I liked the black humour with casualty counts when an asteroid hit and the arbitrary score readout. :D
The mouse controls with the spaceship following the direction your cursor moved in worked really nicely and added polish and for as long as I played at least the physics were flawless.

HybridMind says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 5:34pm

This is a hilarious concept and pretty good execution. Very simple and fun! The only major complaint is that something felt a little laggy with the mouse controls occasionally and would cause me to mess up and 500 million people would die. Loved the arbitrary points and combos and the death toll and burn marks on the Earth. Made me think about it a bit too much.. heh. Decent graphics too. Nice work!

pekuja says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 10:36pm

Solid, fun game. Dunno if it was intentional, but it seems like the way to score big is to hold a gun to earth's head by piling the meteors up and letting them hit each other like pool balls. :-P

One thing that bugged me was meteors just barely scraping earth's surface. Would it make more sense if all meteors that got past you hit earth? Food for thought...

Add some sound effects and you're golden.

skalle says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 6:01am

Though it seems pretty simple in the beginning; when the game speeds up it's really challenging! Very fun to play. Could maybe increase score depending on how many asteroids you hit with other asteroids? (since doing this could be extra challenging and fun).

Sos says ...
Sep 6, 2010 @ 1:35pm

Great interpretation of theme!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]