August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Rubber and Glue

by alexandersshen - Competition Entry

Make sure to keep the compliments and to send back those hurtful words! Reject the insults!

Background: I'm visiting a friend this weekend and don't have access to most of my tools (e.g. tablet, scanner and alone time). I did, however, want to compete in some shape or form. I woke up early Saturday morning and coded this for kicks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Humor3.40
#37Graphics3.50
#39Audio2.83
#84Fun2.75
#94Overall2.75
#107Innovation2.84
#132Theme2.63
#160Community1.25
#166Coolness0%

Comments

Razen says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:41pm

Ha! That was pretty funny! I enjoyed it a lot, nicely done :)

My only complaint is that the randomness seems a bit "too" random, I ran into I think 20 douche's in row. Seems people hate me lol

Zillix says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 11:27pm

Not bad. Very cleanly done for a quick job. I ended up just sorting the words by color, but perhaps that's what you intended? Also, more words would be nice.

sfernald says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:44am

can't locate the source code

Meep says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 3:37am

I really like your take on the theme. =P Was very well made for something very simple.

superflat says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 6:10am

Nice idea! It works surprisingly well as a mechanic. Good work!

jakkarth says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 6:19am

Quick and simple. The sounds (sounds like sfxr?) fit the game well, and the gameplay mechanic was easy to get started with. Having a "hard" mode where all the words are the same color would add a little variety. Nice job!

sfernald says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 4:24pm

I agree with jakkarth. Fun game, but I was waiting for it to switch colors on me. Would make it more challenging and would be so simple to do. As it is, it is kind of a color recognition test.

TenjouUtena says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 6:28pm

This is OK. The graphics are nice, and it's pretty refined. I could see this doing well on some free game site for a short time, if the vocabulary was expanded a bit. :)

Aug 25, 2010 @ 1:51pm

I totally forgot to include the source code! Just uploaded.

Aug 26, 2010 @ 5:47pm

I dont have many opinions on this really. I found that it wasnt so much a game as a test of reflexes. I wasnt reading the words, just using the colour to decide.

There were no enemies! Only their words. This could have been done as a turn based fighting thing, FF style. That would have given it more depth.

moop says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 11:33am

Simple but fun.

It would be awesome with synthesised (or recorded) speech, though I recon the insults would be funnier in a computer voice. :D

Entar says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 12:25pm

That was odd :P
Simple, but effective.

HybridMind says ...
Sep 3, 2010 @ 6:39pm

Haha pretty funny and simple concept. Would've been harder without the color coding though since that is all you should really watch for in that case. Still I played this simple game about 6 times. Never could score over 40 though just a bit too slow I guess. Polish level is pretty high. Not sure exactly how well it fits the theme though. I guess you're sending the bad words back to where they came from?

DrPetter says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 3:03am

I wish there was some way to "lead" the words and learn to play faster. Right now you really have to wait for one to slide away and the next to show up before you can make a decision. Perhaps one variation would be to show the upcoming words in the background, as a curved path leading to the right edge, then turning around off-screen before sliding into view. Maybe even showing the edge of the next word before it moves up. That way, you could learn to read that string of words/signs and synchronize your tapping pattern to hit them much quicker without stopping to observe each one by itself. Nice graphics and presentation overall, but lacks proper gameplay.

Dan C says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 5:26pm

This is really cool. Beautiful graphics, clever use of the theme, and wonderfully simple and fun.

If I were being fussy I'd say that it doesn't quite fit the theme because the words aren't really being used as weapons. But the game is so cute I just don't care.

My only real criticism would be that I found that I could score quite highly by just pushing the left arrow as fast as I could and ignoring whether the messages were compliments or insults. I'd like to see this rectified by adding a time delay between an incorrect response and the next message appearing.

Like some of the other commenters I'd have also liked to see a bit more variance as the game progresses, for example by jumbling up the colours.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]