Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Abduction of Aliens

by Danik - Competition Entry

Use your mouse and keyboard to control your spaceship and beam up the floating alien spheres, and use their evil against them!

5 levels of increasing difficulty.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
Graphics4.35
#10Fun3.65
#19Overall3.57
#25Theme3.91
#27Community3.75
#39Audio2.83
#54Innovation3.26
#80Humor2.22

Comments

athanazio says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 8:23pm

fantastic graphics, love the experience :)

Pokute says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 11:54pm

The base game works good. A ton of great background graphics. Unfortunately the gameplay itself turns quite boring after a while. There's no combo bonus from killing lots of aliens at the same time. There's only one enemy. I used an tractor beamed alien as a flail for a while, but that didn't hurt aliens either (would've been more fun than capture and shoot). Quite polished game overall.

Andrew Marsh says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:28am

For some reason it crashes when I click the left mouse button. Might be a problem with flash on my PC.

Andrew Marsh says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:29am

Sorry meant java

Danik says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:51am

Andrew, yes, seems like the sound effects cause problems for some people. What java version do you have? Maybe I should make a no-sound version.

mikeysee says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 8:50am

Loved the game, great work! I agree with Pokute that the gameplay could do with abit more depth, but when you only have 48 hours time is very limited!

Overall an excellent game, well done mate :)

Danik says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:06am

mikeysee, Thanks! :)

Danik says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:06am

athanazio, glad you enjoyed it!

Danik says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:06am

Pokute, excellent idea! I think I will add that in a post-compo version.

milsom says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:59am

great game :), nice level of difficulty curve also. although get a little boring eventually with just the same simple enemy,

SonnyBone says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:09pm

I LIKE THIS!

Addictive gameplay! The backgrounds are soooo good.
Great job!

sirGustav says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 5:51am

It was annoying when I got hurt by humans behind the cloud, otherwise great game

Andrew Marsh says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 7:20am

Don't worry, it is working for me now, I don't know what fixed it.

ZomBuster says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:31am

This does work a lot like my game indeed, just less crazy and more polish. The graphics (especially the backgrounds) are lovely.

Zillix says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 6:08pm

Good game. The art was especially amazing. It would be nice to be able to kill other enemies when you're pulling one in, by swinging it around. As it is, if you missed the pull to you, you were disarmed for a while. Also, if you start pulling in an enemy that dies, your tractor beam is stuck until you let it go. Only minor complaints, though!

Danik says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 4:39am

Thanks for all the feedback!
I plan to make a post compo version, I have much planned for it, but it will take a while.

stqn says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 10:46am

I can see from the playthrough that it could be fun, but unfortunately it's running way too slow on my computer, and the game is just boring. Otherwise, nice graphics and decent polish! I got no sound also, for some reason. Ah, that must be because your java thing uses OSS and not ALSA I guess... Completely stopping my music player did the trick.

madpew says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 12:50pm

well done enjoyed it. missing music though.

pekuja says ...
Aug 29, 2010 @ 5:58pm

This was fun. I like how you can blow up bunches of aliens at once. Do you get any score bonus from that? I think that'd be cool. A couple of things that bugged me were that if you let go of your mouse button before you captured an alien, it would instead hit and damage you, and that it was sometimes kinda hard to catch an alien if you managed to get it into orbit. I also think the game could use some different types of aliens or maybe different weapons.

pekuja says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 9:59pm

<b>Big ups</b> for rating 94% of the compo games, and by the looks of it, commenting on most of them too!

pekuja says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 9:59pm

Damn it, HTML doesn't work here...

Danik says ...
Sep 3, 2010 @ 1:00pm

stqn: Yes, it might be a bit slow on older machines. I haven't optimized it at all.

madpew: Thanks! Agreed, music would make it better.

pekuja: Thanks for the feedback!

HybridMind says ...
Sep 3, 2010 @ 8:11pm

Yah I defeated the aliens on the first try and got 81,411 points! Finally a game that is actually really quite fun! Love the graphics, the silly name, and the mechanics behind your game. Very simple yet contains a bunch of fun emergent gameplay. I like how if you are too impatient with the tractor beam you send the alien into yourself. I also like how if you move with the tractor beam (usually to dodge the aliens coming) it makes it harder to catch the ammo. There is also a nice thing where the larger and emotionally scarier the alien fleet are they are actually easier to blow up then because of the cool chain reaction mechanic. Plus you throw in coin collecting--I mean who doesn't like collecting coins right? Overall a really great use of the theme and a great entry in general. Congrats!

Danik says ...
Sep 6, 2010 @ 2:10pm

Why thank you vey much HybridMind, glad you enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]