Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 18

August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Odd Castle Wars - Vladp995 - Competition Entry

The challenge of the game is around 0, but I still decided to submit it. There are two castles, you control the left one and the lame AI the right one. There are 4 rounds in which you are placing traps and monsters and trying to catch each monsters and destroy each other castle... This is almost my first "full" game so it has lots of bugs and wrong programming.

View Vladp995's journal. | View all entries by Vladp995

Ratings

#85Humor2.13
#139Coolness2%
#141Fun2.06
#145Community1.60
#149Audio1.00
#149Innovation2.29
#159Graphics1.71
#162Theme1.75
#164Overall1.82

Comments

TheLastBanana says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:59pm

Unfortunately I couldn't see anything at all - it was just a big white canvas with some dividing lines, the word "wait", and lifebars. I guess maybe it was my computer, so I didn't rate it.

Alan Lynn says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 11:22am

The game worked fine for me. My main complaint is that I don't see much strategic depth in this.

Those enemy graphics need to have a transparent background, silly.

madpew says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:48pm

well done for your first game. don't let comments or ratings get you down. it's not that bad. maybe the damage should be a little increased so the game doesn't last so long (and gets boring)

Jamin says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 5:24pm

Playable game. I'm a bit disappointed that it can't be played by two people right off the bat. Also, those graphics aren't doing their job... I had to read through your explanation three times to get what I was supposed to be doing.

You might not think it, but it's actually a lot more fun to read bits about your weekend game-development endeavor. Concept sketches, WIP screenshots, banter about what you're working on at the given moment... hell, throw in photos of your food and pets if you really have to.

Keep at it; I appreciate your hard work in producing this game and I look forward to seeing your work come the next Ludum Dare!

Aug 24, 2010 @ 2:22pm

A nice try. Possibly some nice ideas in there, but unfortunately it's hard to tell at this stage. I didn't really get how the game worked. It was my turn to attack, so I sent in all my guys and they attacked the fortress, and then it didn't do anything.

But hey, everyone's got to start somewhere, and things don't always go the way we plan. I'm sure next competition you'll be awesome :D

Aug 24, 2010 @ 5:59pm

Why doesn't it just end the round automatically when you finish placing stuff instead of having to press space? How do I control what I want to put down? It seems like I can only put down a few of the same thing down each time and other times nothing at all.

eli says ...
Aug 29, 2010 @ 11:27am

Nice ideas in there, I'd like to see a future version of this game.

MrPhil says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 9:30pm

I'm sorry, but I gave you terrible ratings. I tried to play, but after a while of nothing happening, no matter how I clicked... meh.
I say I'm sorry, because I know how hard it is to get a game to this point, so don't feel bad. Ludum Dare is really really hard, you get better, I promise :D

Basic says ...
Sep 1, 2010 @ 8:20am

Nice start, got I little boring after some time, and I didn't really get it tbh. Keep at it tho.

pekuja says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 12:10am

I wasn't able to figure out how to play. The only thing I seemed to be able to do is to place those wall-things during the defense phase.

Doches says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 6:06am

Like some others, I can't figure out how to play. I know you've got instructions there -- I just can't figure out what they /mean/.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]