August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Fromulus

by brandoncash - Competition Entry

Press Z to cast a spell and X to cycle spells. Move with the arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Graphics4.08
#50Coolness14%
#62Community3.18
#68Humor2.41
#112Fun2.42
#116Innovation2.74
#121Overall2.51
#142Audio1.13
#153Theme2.09

Comments

athanazio says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:17pm

very nice graphics !!! love the little guy on fire huahuahuahu, good job !

Surrealix says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:22pm

I was looking forward to playing this game, ever since I saw the screenshot on the blog. It was just as good as I expected.

Tthe first two enemies I dispatched using fire, ice and wind, and I couldn't quite figure out how it was related to the theme. However, I then froze an enemy and blew it into another one!

I love the subtle animation of the main character, and the little touches that made me smile (the rabbits running faster when they're on fire, fire melting the ice). All it's missing is a story and/or some levels. Overall, though, really well done!

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:13pm

ok, keybindings are arse and what's with this flixel/flashpunk fad it's really flippin' wrong, if you're going to make a pixelly game use something else, flash is for ads which use vector art and suck the utter crap out of your bandwidth

also the keys are backwards GRR

i like how you have multiple spells, that is *quite* a nice touch

it would be much more fun if it were faster

i didn't really see the theme being played clearly in this, but apparently it exists, i'm reading your journal so i'll just have to take your word for it

graphics are fantastic

audio is nonexistant so N/A

humour is nonexistant so N/A

overall, quite promising, but as it stands it's kinda drab with respect to gameplay, next time don't spend so much damn time on the graphics

community effort is pretty lacking, which is usually quite understandable due to not having enough effort left, but a couple of screenshots and jotting down notes is something i would consider reasonable.

Almost says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:19pm

I like the graphics. Yeah, without levels there's not much to do. Though setting things on fire is fun.

dock says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 4:16am

" what's with this flixel/flashpunk fad it's really flippin' wrong, if you're going to make a pixelly game use something else, flash is for ads which use vector art and suck the utter crap out of your bandwidth "

This doesn't seem like a fair criticism at all. Flash is for many different things, and flixel offers a good SDL style method, especially as people are getting used to Flex. I hope you're not going to criticise every low-resolution flash game here.

devinmoore says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 6:22am

The only reason this isn't 5 stars is that I can't tell what spells I'm using. the gameplay has a whymsical humor to it, similar to the fun cute-ness of the mario franchise's specialty levels. Great work.

jakkarth says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 6:45am

Great graphics. I didn't see a way to know what was going to happen when I hit Z, an indicator of which spell I was going to cast would be nice. A few minutes with sfxr could have been helpful, but the graphics made up for it. Nice work!

T8000 says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:32pm

I liked the colors you chose for the game, it looks nice and seems to work nicely but i really wanted to have some more content for the game. Overall id say you got still quite alot of things done in 48 hours and everything feels polished.

Hellfang says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:14pm

Really cool art and a pretty fun game. I would like to have seen an icon or something to show which spell I'm using though. And some sounds would really spice things up

Meep says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:32pm

I really like the graphics. Fun little thing to mess around with =P

brandoncash says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:32pm

Glad everyone is liking the art! Sorry the game is so short, but my map editor ate the longer map, so I made this one in about 5 minutes flat, with no thought to it whatsoever.

I've already added a notifier about which spell is selected, so expect to see that after the competition is over. You can see a screenshot of it in my latest blog post, however!

GreaseMonkey: Flash makes for great Web deployment. Personally, I am of the belief that Flash is good for games and video, and that’s about it. Hopefully your opinion on that doesn’t color your voting, as there are quite a few Flash games on here.

As for the theme, you can’t kill an enemy on your own unless you set him on fire. Enemies on fire also set others they touch on fire, killing them, too. If you freeze an enemy, you can drop him onto another enemy. You can use wind and shoot him into another.

I'm a bit surprised to see you say N/A for humor: I tried to get a little humor in the graphics and animations. Personally I think his falling animation and death animation are pretty funny, not to mention the screaming animations for each enemy. I also quite like how fast the Chompers are when you set them aflame.

devinmoore: Awesome! That comparison is truly an honor.

Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:44pm

Wonderful pixel art! You are a really good artist and a great animator. The death animations are priceless, and have lots of humour. Well done!

quin says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 4:24am

while falling, the camera didn't keep up with me. as a result, I died before I could see the enemy that killed me.

SonnyBone says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 2:55pm

THIS IS NO GAME. THIS IS A MURDER SIMULATOR.
And a rad one at that. Messing around is fun and a good way to kill some time. Your art skillz are mos def.

Danik says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 5:29am

There is subtle humour in the animations. Reminds me of Rincewind in Discworld 1. :D
Very nice graphics overall. Just one level and no real goal yet, but pretty fun anyways.

Alan Lynn says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 12:05pm

At one part there's a cliff in the background that looks like it's in the foreground. I tried to jump onto it, then fell a long way, landed on an enemy, and died.

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 11:58am

Great start to something. I like the graphics.

hamburger says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 6:27pm

Nice pixel work. :) I think this is the start of something great.

pekuja says ...
Aug 31, 2010 @ 10:25pm

This might be fun if it had some good puzzle and level design. As it is it's obviously unfinished. I felt like the ice spell was by far the best because it shoots directly forward and doesn't leave the enemy dangerous. Sometimes with the sonic boom spell the enemy would actually fly back towards me, which was rather unexpected and renders the spell dangerous to use. I also managed to kill myself jumping off the hill in the middle because there was an enemy directly below me.

GBGames says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 6:49am

I like the death animation. I wish there was an indicator to show what spell you had active. I liked how the monsters ran around, setting each other on fire.

It's too bad that there isn't a more elaborate level to go with the game.

HybridMind says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 7:18pm

This game looks really nice and it is a shame there isn't any sound. Wasn't really sure what to do though in the game. I didn't seem to find much use for any spell besides the ice spell and occasionally lighting the enemies on fire. I may have missed something but the world that you explore seemed really tiny and without much cause for strategy on the other spells to use.

Sep 5, 2010 @ 5:36am

It was fun for a few minutes, but could be improved with more variety of enemies and more levels. I'd also advise making the background "platforms" more different from the solid foreground ones - I got a bit of a suprise when I fell through what I thought was the floor at one point.

Overall a solid game with good graphics and having multiple spells was a nice addition. Couldn't really see the theme incorporated anywhere with any great strength though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]