August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Enemy Maze

by goffmog - Competition Entry

REQUIREMENTS:

A PC with a DirectX9 capable graphics card
DirectX9 runtime
SlimDX runtime (included in installer)
.NET 3.5 runtime (included in installer)

CONTROLS/INSTRUCTIONS:

WASD to move the player
Click on a map square to create/destroy a wall
You cannot place a wall where it would block an enemy's path to the player.
Enemies will spawn only where they can reach the player.
Collect shiny things for lots of points
Avoid enemies
Trick enemies into killing eachother.
The game ends when your life runs out.

Enemy Maze is like pacman, but you get to redesign the maze as you go. And instead of attacking enemies yourself, you must trick them into killing eachother - thus the enemies themselves become your deadly weapons! (that fits the theme, right?)

The longer you survive for, the more enemies you get. Different colours move at different speeds. You cannot trap enemies by building walls around them, or hide from them by building walls around yourself.

If you dare look at the source (quite horrible) you might notice that I actually started (most of Saturday) writing the game as a tower defense where you capture and reverse engineer enemies into towers!! But I got to a certain point where it semed more fun as it was, so I tweaked that into a game.

The game was written in C#, in Visual Studio 2008 with the slimDX Direct3D wrapper used for D3D9 sprites. Windows Forms were used for the UI. Paint.NET was used for graphics.

If you have problems running the game due to slimDX, please try installing manually from the msi file included in the slimDX folder.

Please let me know of any bugs!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Innovation3.55
#55Coolness13%
#57Overall3.09
#88Fun2.73
#94Theme3.18
#103Graphics2.67
#117Community2.33
#129Audio1.40
#131Humor1.60

Comments

Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:21am

Ran the installer and it seemed to install fine, but when I open the game it crashes immediately. :(

I'm on Windows XP SP3

Alan Lynn says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:08am

It's a decent idea, but running two enemies into each other isn't very satisfying at this point. I think I'd like the game better if it played more like a puzzle game, with distinct levels containing a fixed number of enemies.

goffmog says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:25am

Alistair It's been tested on Vista and Windows 7... The installer should have installed .NET 3.5 if available but it may not have. Other than making sure you have the .NET 3.5 framework and SlimDX installed I really don't know what to suggest. :(

goffmog says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:37am

Alan, thanks for the feedback. Did you play the game long enough to get the fast enemies? And did you mainly go after the shiny things or just try to kill the enemies?

I understand your point about making it more of a puzzle game, the need for level design is something I deliberately avoided.

madpew says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:23pm

had problems installing, installed again (repaired) and it worked. I had SlimDX already installed. dunno what went wrong first time. the game is something fresh (at least to me) the graphics are "ok" and the gameplay is sometimes bugged (can't place stone) but besides to that it's well done and fun to play. bomberman without bombs. sadly the theme (enemies killing themselves) happens accidentally.

goffmog says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 12:52am

Hi madpew, that's odd. I haven't found any bugs in wall placement. Are you sure it wasn't simply that placing the wall would have blocked an enemy's path to the player? (see instructions).. Hmm, I guess the theme is accidental from the point of view of the enemies :)

brandoncash says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 2:16am

It works fine on XP for me. Installed SlimDX itself, but I already had the .NET stuff.

madpew says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 7:46am

Thanks for the awards. I rechecked the game and you were totally right. I apologize and adjusted the rating accordingly. Btw. my first comment wasen't intendet to be "semi-positive". It's all positive! (except the weird setup problems, but that's something out of your scope).
best regards. Hope to see you next LD.

goffmog says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 7:52am

Thanks madpew, helped me realise I needed to write the instructions as close to the top of my entry description as possible. I'll definitely be doing the next one :)

ExciteMike says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 1:18pm

Nice! It was neat learning how to build and break your maze to force the monsters to group up. It seems like it would be a problem if you came to the game without first reading the instructions, though.

pekuja says ...
Aug 29, 2010 @ 3:46pm

I actually liked this more than I expected to. Going in, I was thinking "not another maze game!", but the maze editing mechanic was actually kinda neat. The rest of the gameplay is pretty basic, and I kinda found it hard to effectively make the enemies hit each other after a while, except when a faster enemy was behind a slower one, and by sheer luck.

Next time, don't make an installer. I wouldn't want to install and uninstall 170 games on my system to do LD voting.

goffmog says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 6:40am

pekuja, glad you liked it. I think the way to play is just to try to keep the enemies away from yourself - go for the shiny things - and, as another reviewer put it, let the collisions happen by "accident"... Next time I'll either go with Web or make sure the game has fewer runtime dependencies.

The "source" download does include binaries which should run providing you have .NET 3.5 and the SlimDX runtime installed.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]