Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Infiltrator

by ChainedLupine - Competition Entry

Ugh. Infiltrator is done.

Story: Two armies have invaded your homeland and laid it to waste: The Red Wolf Army and the Blue Star PMC. Now that the war is over, your job is infiltrate their combined base and then strike a blow for the people.

How to play: A simple infiltration game mixed with Robots-style play. Stay out of the sight cones for the soldiers, unless you intend to lead them to their doom. Red soldiers will attack blue. Soldiers can be lead to mines or holes in order to dispatch them, or you can start a firefight between the two groups.

Controls: Arrow keys.

You can pick up a health pack (red cross) in order to heal yourself. Mines are small dots that will kill the enemy but not you. (Mines will insta-kill anything, including tanks.) Holes will kill you, or an enemy.

Some extra buttons do work:

R - Restart a level (in case FUBAR)
K - Randomly kill an enemy (CHEATING!)
F - FPS counter
SPACEBAR - Skip dialogs (if one is onscreen)

"Music" by Wolfram.

Update: Here is my post-mortem for those interested: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2010/08/24/ludum-dare-18-entry-infiltrator-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Community4.00
#13Overall3.65
#19Fun3.46
#24Audio3.12
#27Graphics3.58
#35Theme3.77
#39Innovation3.42
#55Coolness13%
#99Humor1.94

Comments

athanazio says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:08pm

very well done !! could play for hours

sfernald says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 11:07pm

"Music" by Wolfram.

Who is wolfram and you know it is one person only for compo entry including all resources, right?

Surrealix says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:32am

Amazing game. It has a fun (and fairly deep) mechanic, pretty graphics, and the levels just go on and on. My only complaint was the walk speed, which felt very slow when going through the level for the 3rd time ...

A very well designed game.

sfernald, he's referring to WolframAlpha, the 'computational engine' that has a procedural music generator.

Covenant says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 8:30am

Awesome game... love the graphics and the "stealth" feel to it... could lead to something really special with some more bells and whistles and a good storyline... :)

ChainedLupine says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:40am

sfernald, as Surrealix said, I used Wolfram Alpha Tones: http://tones.wolfram.com/generate/advanced.html I exported the resultant midi and then cleaned it up a bit.

No other person was involved in creating the content for my game. :)

Aug 23, 2010 @ 3:39pm

Absolutely phenomenal. The most fun of any game I've tried so far. This is a "real" game and with some more polish you could sell it. I love the strategy, the sight "cones" and the super stylin coolness of this. Keep up the fantastic work: you hit it outta the park and I am blown away. My highest rating so far: it actually was fun.

whatZ says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:17pm

Great game - I'll be back to sneak around some more in this world. Patience was rewarded, as it should be in a good stealth/strategy game. It felt a little wierd being able to fake the bots out by stepping out of the detection cone. But, I'd rather play a game like this rather than run around chased by a pack of enemies. Nice job.

pdyxs says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 1:45am

Definitely one of the more 'complete' games I've tried in the comp so far. A lot of fun, though I'd have liked to have an indication of what stages i'd finished and which ones I still had to go...

someone says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 7:12am

Very nice. Solid and fun game play.

Aug 24, 2010 @ 1:42pm

A very interesting take on the theme, and I like the way it didn't rely entirely on the "enemies as weapons" - there was a lot of variety in the ways you could defeat the enemies. Although I did find it quite hard to start fights between the two sides, as they always seemed more interested in me. Possibly the only real gripe I have with the game. Maybe I just need to spend more time on it.

It's pretty hard, but I can see myself coming back to this one for more ;) Very well made and polished, and a very clever take on the theme that works well. Good work ;)

sfernald says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 4:35pm

Haha my bad. Amazing game!

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 4:49am

Very fun. It reminds me a bit of the Commandos games.

Jerm says ...
Aug 27, 2010 @ 5:06pm

Nice game with a very polished feel to it (until you got to the second part of the base :)). Found it a bit difficult at first and didn't realise those three-dots things were mines (made it a bit easier once I found out, perhaps they should have been in the tutorial level :)). It was a bit annoying to have to restart the whole level when you died, perhaps you should put checkpoints in to save your game.

I would definitely play this again if you fleshed it out a bit more.

Also, the how-to-play level was as awesome idea.

pekuja says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 12:43pm

This was a really cool game, and a surprising amount of content for an LD game. I really was missing a sense of a goal though. I had no idea why I was going to Unnamed Level 3, or if there were further levels after that. Looking at the screenshots, I guess I at least missed the tanks.

It was kinda hard to get enemies to follow you behind corners, by the way, especially if they were wielding guns.

ChainedLupine says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 1:51am

To all of you who requested that I work on the game further, you will be happy to know I am almost done with a post-compo edition. :)

@pekuja: The game suffered from having far too much content and not enough time to put it together. I had intended to have a set of levels with a clear objective. (This is why some of the levels are timed, and others are unlimited.) Tanks were operational, but only used just in one part of the game... And in a way where a mine takes out the tank before you probably even realized there was a tank at all. :)

@Jerm: Mines and continue points are now in the tutorial, at least in the post-compo edition. It was a case of running out of time to implement those features.

@whatZ: Post-compo edition, the soldiers are a LOT more aggressive. Now armed with path-finding, they will move towards your location even if you are no longer directly in their sight-cone and on the other side of a wall.

@Breakdance: I don't know if I will sell it, not without some significant art improvement, but we'll see. I am definitely releasing a free post-compo edition that will have fully complete levels and a story.

Entar says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 12:29pm

Hm, tough game, but very cool. I'm going to have to come back and play this one some more.

stqn says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 3:10pm

This could have been fun if the game speed was constant and not dependant on the frame rate, and thus varying between "slow" and "extremely slow". As is, it's quite difficult and annoying. I think it would be better without the music, too.

Besides these problems, this looks like a good 48 hours production.

HybridMind says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 8:51pm

Very very cool game. Had a lot of fun playing this many times. Couldn't get past "Unamed Level 3" though. Wasn't sure how to trip the cyan square switches. Figured I might have to lead the enemies there to detonate the boxes but always just got shot in the back. Wish the enemies tracked around corners better but in 48hrs I'm impressed with what you built into the game already!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]