August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Undermine

by droqen - Competition Entry

Use the arrow keys.

Goal #1: Stay alive. Use left, right, and up arrows (or Z) to move and jump around.

Goal #2: Wreck enemies. Use down arrow (or X) to duck into safety and slide around. Pop up beneath enemies.

Goal #3: Figure out how to force the invader back from whence it came (space).

~ made in Flash, using Flashpunk. The web link will work for more than just computers running Windows.

Things I did not create during the 48 hours:
Flashpunk (a great library for making flash games -- see flashpunk.net)
standingwave2 (an as3 library for manipulating audio stuff)
Mover.as (a class I created long ago; I use it in pretty much everything I make; I hear that's allowed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Theme4.21
#6Audio3.56
#7Fun3.68
#7Overall3.82
#15Innovation3.82
#28Coolness20%
#47Humor2.63
#59Graphics3.29
#88Community2.68

Comments

Manuel777 says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:04pm

I really like it! its hard to get used to, but once you got it its really fun :D

karlinfox says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:15pm

Source is a spam site.

droqen says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:21pm

Is it? I'll reupload source somewhere else then :x
Thanks, Manuel!

skintkingle says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 3:59am

Neat idea, ditto manuel777, Controls are a bit hard to get used to.

zigs says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 4:02am

simplistic, smooth, fun. :D

Gornova says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 4:23am

this idea is incredible and so fun! Really good work!

Draknek says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:08am

Really weird controls, they take some getting used to. Instructions screen isn't massively clear which doesn't help, and unfortunately the gameplay is frustrating even when you know what you're doing.

I really like the idea though, I think it's awesome even though I'm rubbish at it. Enemy variety is good.

Sound is nice, and for some reason reminds me of the music I made for my first LD game so points for unintentional nostaligia (although yours is better).

Bug: running off the side of the platform doesn't kill you.

Covenant says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 8:08am

Very hard to get the hang of, and the bug with falling off the platform (and not dying, etc) became annoying after a bit... it's a good idea, needs better level design to ease the learning curve...

droqen says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 8:23am

I cannot at all reproduce this "falling off the screen doesn't kill you" bug! Are you sure you aren't just being slightly impatient? You need to wait a couple of seconds after the music drops off.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 11:58am

I love the idea for this game, also this little informatic at the start is great. Good job

JamesGecko says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 5:14pm

Good concept, excellent execution.

The soldiers annoyed me until I realized that they could be used to shoot at the invader. I also wasn't quite sure what to do with the little square guys, but that didn't take long.

I liked the subtle hint at the instruction screen that the goal was to push the invader off the top. It may have been slightly too subtle, though.

One niggle is that the gameplay seems to encourage you to pick either the top or bottom level and stick with it for extended periods of time. If you neglect a level, it's very hard to retake it from the inevitable hordes of enemies. Early game, the bottom level is preferable because the hard-to-deal-with soldiers tend to stick to the top level. Late game, the bottom seems to get swarmed, and it's easier to stay on the top level and use the soldiers to shoot at the invader.

Notch says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 7:40am

Hoo wow, very nice indeed! I'm not sure what it is exactly about it that I find so appealing. I think it's the entire package.
All the enemies behave differently and are easily readable, the boss monster is iconic to the extreme, and the music getting more and more muted as you get hurt is a very nice effect. I just miss sound effects!

Danik says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 3:40pm

Fun game! I like the way the filter on the music conveys your health, kind of like the shell shock effect in games like Call of duty.

Meep says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 4:30pm

Really fun game! The enemies with the buttons on their heads and the ones with the guns were the most frustrating, but I managed to beat it. =P

Alan Lynn says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 11:58am

Sometimes I would push the enemies really high, and sometimes they wouldn't go high at all. I couldn't figure out what it was that made the difference.

droqen says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 10:46pm

Alan Lynn:
The gunner enemies only fly so high when killed, and the boxy orange guys (the ones who look like you) need to be in a certain state to be killed.

To everyone else, thank you :D I am happy for this great reception. Half of me wants to respond to every person ever, and the other half tells me not to.

So anyway: It's good to see so many people enjoying it! Some might not be able to get the hang of it but I don't think there's anything I can do about that ._. If you don't enjoy it enough to learn (or maybe it's just a real pain in the ass!) then maybe I'll whip up a video or something of me beating the game.

I dunno! I have run out of things to say, I think.

TheGrieve says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 3:05pm

annoying as hell, the first time :P when i had nothing but runners, I HATE RUNNERS :D second third fourth fifth and sixth time (when i beat it) it was awesome. love it

PsySal says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 8:46pm

Awesome, I won!

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2010 @ 6:51am

Now this is gaming gold! Adding some sound effects would be the cherry on top. I love it!

Aug 30, 2010 @ 12:16pm

Pretty innovative, this is the first game ive seen where you slide between the enemies feet and then jump up to catapault them. The little red guys are annoying, the big ones are too easy to turn into missiles but the little ones are quite difficult. Perhaps if they paused and did the flashing head thing where you can then launch them up more often?

Graphics were cute, I laughed at the giant space invader creature.

pekuja says ...
Sep 1, 2010 @ 1:27pm

"Play it for N64" -- what does that mean?

Entar says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 9:37am

Cool game mechanic, very fluid. I like that there are different enemy types. It's a little tough, and I felt like there was not an obvious way to see how much health was left... otherwise, nice job.

droqen says ...
Sep 3, 2010 @ 9:19am

pekuja, that's just me being silly upon discovering I can change the names of all the little links up there :3

HybridMind says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 6:14pm

Oh cool.. once I started to understand how to play and how (I think) the music changed to represent my life force I started to have a lot more fun. A lot of variety and strategy going on in this deceptively simple little game. Excellent work!

pekuja says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 11:02pm

Cool mechanics. Fun game. I also liked the way the music was muffled when you lost health. I also thought the inverted space invaders scenario was pretty interesting. There was only one invader, and he went up as the game went on, instead of down.

I guess the only complaints I have is that it was really easy to fall off the stage, and it was difficult to jump on the enemies accurately. Might be easier if you had a shorter jump actually.

DrPetter says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 2:33am

Oh no! I was so close. Only one row of giant pixels left to get the invader out, and I managed to slide off the platform. It's kind of epic to have this long fight against one enemy, but perhaps it would be more friendly to new players if there were levels of increasing difficulty, where you could defeat the invader with just 3-4 hits on the first one, and then get progressively tougher ones after that. Very clever gameplay mechanics though, and they work really well. Sometimes a bit slidey and fiddly to avoid things while you're moving around maybe, but it's not a big problem. Generally I think the sprites could be larger and move more slowly, if you wanted to change something. Would make it easier to control and aim your moves. Graphics are simple and stylish.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]