August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

D3SCENT

by moltanem2000 - Competition Entry

My not-so-much blogged about game! unfortunately I couldn't make many blog posts without revealing too much of the game/story. So yeah anyways, this is D3SCENT! I was struggling with some really bad game-breaking bugs (brought upon myself thanks to spaghetti code). So they might still be lingering. let's hope not.

EDIT: one of them bugs was still creeping around, SHOULD be fixed now. Getting past the 90crate room should be possible now. Game is now Completable.

Also, forgot to mention, there are 2 endings, you'll have to experience both for the full effect.

EDIT2: there's a little feature I added in the edit above, that I thought I'd mention. Pressing Pageup brings you to the crate room. I'd advise only using this if you've glitched up at said room. When you press the button it'll set everything up (high jump, required spring count, etc.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Coolness16%
#52Graphics3.35
#53Humor2.57
#67Community3.07
#75Overall2.94
#101Fun2.58
#107Audio1.94
#112Innovation2.78
#145Theme2.44

Comments

Redbone says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:03pm

*shakes fist at three turret room*

mpc174 says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:41am

Yeah, the three turret room was a doozy. Nice little metroidvania otherwise.

devinmoore says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:47am

Wouldn't download.

T8000 says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 11:56am

I enjoyed the interesting visuals of the game. The room with 3 turrets was too challenging for me as well tho. :(

moltanem2000 says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:30pm

The three turret room is the hardest in the game, if you can get past it, it's fairly smooth sailing from then on

hcs says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 3:49am

Crudders, in the 90 spring room, I get stuck with the bullet hitting me as I'm on the checkpoint. No recourse but to restart the game.
Other than that I enjoyed it enough to play through again, but I never did get the other ending because of that 90 spring room bug (and I tried 4 times!). Very fun, if a little irritatingly slow to retry stuff.

cymon says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 9:23am

Got some bugs for you.

In the room with the 10 spring door it's possible to get locked up if you're shot while in the checkpoint area.

If you get shot you go to a checkpoint. If you run into a closed door you go back to the evil robot at the beginning. Kinda sucks when you're trying to get the good ending... at least I assume it's good. Gotta be better than the one I got giving it the springs.

stqn says ...
Aug 26, 2010 @ 5:35am

Crashes under Wine, unfortunately.

moltanem2000 says ...
Aug 27, 2010 @ 12:08am

just thought I'd mention:
"there's a little feature I added in the edit above, that I thought I'd mention. Pressing Pageup brings you to the crate room. I'd advise only using this if you've glitched up at said room. When you press the button it'll set everything up (high jump, required spring count, etc.) "

localcoder says ...
Aug 27, 2010 @ 1:48am

Nice game, but I stopped when I got stuckbugged in the crate room - page up didn't seem to work. The sound-making-thinggy was amusing, I didn't know why the music started the first time it came on.

Spooner says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 12:54pm

Got to the spring room but it kept glitching (using page-up to return). Tried half a dozen times, but I just couldn't get through and gave up (I still had to watch the intro and talk to the computer before page-up worked for me and I felt it could have been a dozen more tries before I randomly got past that level). Was really disappointed, because I wanted _so much_ to serve the computer!

Was a bit confused by the sound. On my first play-through music started at what seemed to be a random point; silence before. Then I read in your journal that you had a human-acted voice-over in the intro, but no, I never heard that (maybe you didn't get around to putting that in?).

Martoon says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 10:06am

I got no sound. I assumed there was none, until I saw Spooner's comments.

My big crate room experience was very frustrating. It basically went like this:
Enter room. Try a few times to jump past the first turret, which was exceptionally tricky since I could only jump very high. After a couple tries, game locks up. Takes a long time to kill via task manager. Start game, go through intro and first convo with HAL, hit page up.

Repeat.

Finally get to crate in middle. Convo with HAL. Start to go left, get hit by turret. A few more attempts to get to crate again, lock up. Kill task, intro, etc.

Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. REPEAT! Freakin' REPEAT!

I couldn't take it anymore, so gave up.

Overall, though, cute game with a lot of personality. Wish I could have heard the sound. And wish I could have seen the endings! :P

moltanem2000 says ...
Aug 31, 2010 @ 11:31am

Wow, never realised it was that much of a problem. Sorry 'bout that :|

There is "music" that plays from the start, it's more of an ambiance. you probably won't hear it without headphones. If music randomly started that means a speaker got hit by a bullet. I guess I never made that very clear.

pekuja says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 9:31am

It seems like there's quite a bit of content here. I didn't really enjoy it though, as it was so slow paced and had backtracking too. It just seemed to take forever to just get a few springs. At least on the second backtrack I got to grab a couple springs that were previously unattainable. Withing the limitations of my rating time here, I wasn't able to get past the room with three turrets.

moltanem2000 says ...
Sep 7, 2010 @ 10:02am

- - - - - - - -
Best rating right here guys

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]