August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Super Mega Blaster

by Codheadz - Competition Entry

Alien Super Mega Blaster (named by my son) is a take on Space Invaders.

The theme is incorporated by the fact aliens do not fire back, but attack in response to you firing on them and spraying shrapnel in attempt to kill you. This shrapnel also kills the aliens and you can get a score multiplier for a cascade death by knocking out one of the large ships.

Some bugs for sure and would certainly like to improve the collision detection as this has been implemented for time to code. Pixel perfect will certainly be on the cards.

To run this you will need either the XNA studio 3.1 or the XNA redist from the link below:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=53867A2A-E249-4560-8011-98EB3E799EF2&displaylang=en

If running this game is not possible as you either do not want to or can not install XNA, then I have updated a video of the submitted version here:

http://tinyurl.com/2639hyw


Have fun and would love some feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Graphics3.05
#86Audio2.28
#94Community2.60
#100Fun2.59
#101Innovation2.88
#103Overall2.69
#108Humor1.80
#113Theme2.94
#166Coolness0%

Comments

Pokute says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 9:42pm

Simply nice graphics design.
Adding additional gameplay element would have helped a lot for sustaining interest, though.

Codheadz says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 2:21pm

Thanks for playing Pokute. Certainly could do with more game play elements, but had very limited time. Kept a backlog of things to develop and was strick in starting the next addition until I had finished what I was working on.

eli says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:17am

Love the graphic style! The shrapnel is really well done. Strays a LITTLE bit from the theme, but maybe more of that should have happened during this compo.

A little more randomness would have helped - or at least some kind of fighting back of the aliens. As it is, the aliens are very passive and do not pose a threat once the concept is understood.

Good job considering time constraints.

Aug 24, 2010 @ 3:52pm

Unfortunately I couldnt run this, although I did get the idea from the video. I gave 2 for innovation due to the schrapanel mechanic. An interesting if indirect take on the theme.
I love the graphics; I might consider a similar style next LD :P 3 stars for that.

moop says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 10:18am

Nice graphical style and the game was fun to play. It was cool that with a well placed shot onto one of the flying saucers at the top you could take a massive chunk out of the enemy ranks. :D

Codheadz says ...
Aug 31, 2010 @ 5:04pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. Really appreciated.

HybridMind says ...
Sep 3, 2010 @ 5:46pm

This game gets really interesting around wave 4 or so. That is when some fun strategies are left for the player to figure out that make this different than most "hold trigger" strategies. It is cool that you then have to be aware of dodging what you destroy and I like that a lot. Watching the bits spiral down is fun and I liked the sound effects too. Great job on a solid entry. I will say that I find your connection to the theme a bit tentative in my opinion but I guess I do see how you interpreted it.

pekuja says ...
Sep 5, 2010 @ 12:51am

Cool take on the classic game. It took a few levels to even see how you used the theme though. That's ok though, probably better as a whole this way.

Scramasax says ...
Sep 6, 2010 @ 4:01pm

Couldn't play the game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]