Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 18

August 20th-23rd, 2010
Theme: Enemies as Weapons

Back to Browse Entries

HAckBotz - recursor - Competition Entry

You are a roboticist trapped in a secret government with a bunch of malfunctioning robots. Thankfully, even though you are unarmed, you've got skillz in that you can hack most of the robots (except for the orange ones) given the SX3000 replacement circuit board. Hacking requires you sneak up behind a robot when he is not looking and touch him (make sure you have a circuit board and are standing on the ground - not in the air). The goal: get out of the facility with your life intact.

NOTES *) The preloader does not appear to be working so you
might have to wait a few seconds while staring at
what looks like an almost empty webpage.
0) In normal mode, Z = jump
1) Orange robots are NOT hackable!
2) You must NOT be in the air when you attempt to hack a robot or you WILL fail.
3) Hacks don't last forever, so get done with the bot quickly.
4) It is required that you hack certain bots to open certain security gates. TrackBot opens the Blue gates. WheelBot opens the Red gates.
5) In hacked mode: Z = jump X = fire
6) Something I failed to get into the game instructions - the exit to each level looks kind of like an elevator door.
7) Stuck on a level with no way to finish it? No problem, just press 'Q' and the level will be reset ... but you will lose a life in the process.

View recursor's journal. | View all entries by recursor

Ratings

Coolness30%
#29Audio3.00
#33Humor2.88
#46Theme3.64
#53Innovation3.27
#57Overall3.09
#65Graphics3.18
#81Fun2.77
#104Community2.45

Comments

skintkingle says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 8:11pm

Nice qwirky game. However i didnt do that much hacking past what i needed to do.. However it did entertain me while i played it.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:02pm

man, hacking a bot this way is actually quite fun

although you lose a star in the fun department due to the fact that you can't restart from the same level once you run out of lives (and you don't have many)... perhaps some continues would help

this is a very good application of the theme

graphics are pretty good, not sure how many stars i should give them

audio is pretty good, i like the voices though it's a LITTLE irritating, could do with some more ambience

humour is there and it works, yay, first game i've rated which has this

overall, i would recommend you learn a real platform with respect to this type of game, i find the concept behind flixel an abomination as it's really not flash... but this is a brilliant game if you ignore its one or two flaws

the community feedback is essentially non-existant following your journal. considering that you got this done with 30 minutes to spare, i find this understandable.

Sparky says ...
Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:59pm

This feels pretty well put together given the time constraint.

I think the main piece of feedback I'd give is that I found the hacking to be a bit twitchy- sometimes it worked when I thought it hadn't, and other times it didn't work when I thought it should have.

Congratulations on finishing!

AndrewBC says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:09am

Pretty fun! I like what you tried to do with the voice.

My only complaint is how touchy hacking was, I ended up getting shot for being too close a lot, but I guess hacking really is an acquired skill. Ho ho ho.

flashkick says ...
Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:45am

Nice use of the voices.
My only complaint would be that the bots sometimes shoot multiple times in a row making it really hard to dodge.

eli says ...
Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:21am

Extremely cool idea, but far too complex for me to really get into. I feel that spending more time on actual gameplay instead of other elements would have helped greatly.

Graphics are very nice, humor is good (reminds me of "Give Up, Robot").

Surrealix says ...
Aug 25, 2010 @ 3:02am

Although I read the instructions, it took me a while to actually put them in context. The first time I played (actually, the first half-dozen attempts), I died almost straight away. Those robots sure shoot fast!

Then I tried to hack the orange robot. Oops.

The next couple of attempts, I snuck up behind a robot. I thought the countdown was the time it took to hack them, so I sat beside the robot and waited. I got fairly annoyed when the hacking finished, and the robot turned around to shoot me.

Your animations are OK, and the player death is pretty cool.

Finally, I figured out how to play the game, and actually had quite a bit of fun with it. As has been mentioned, it does fit the theme well, and it feels like a finished (albeit unpolished and way-too-hard) game. Well done!

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2010 @ 6:40pm

Thanks for all the constructive comments. I do agree that the robots do shoot a bit fast. I'm thinking I'll probably either start slower and ramp up the firing rate at higher levels or make different robots shoot a different speeds keeping the slower robots for the lower levels.

@Surrealix: Good point about the "Hacked" text not being specific enough. I'll have to change that too.

ZomBuster says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 8:36am

Solid platformer gameplay, hacking the robots is really hard tough, I think it would be easier to have not all robots shoot at you.

Draknek says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 11:10am

With a game like this I don't think you gain much by having lives: the only thing they accomplish is to make me annoyed that I can't start from the same level I just got to.

I didn't realise that you could hack robots the first time I played. Some in-game instructions about that would be good.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2010 @ 12:44pm

@Draknet: Somebody else mentioned the lives thing also. I'm thinking maybe once you lose all your lives you are given an option to continue from the level you are currently playing at, but your score is reset to zero. Also, the in-game instructions, or a single tutorial level is a good idea.

Henslinatr says ...
Aug 29, 2010 @ 6:38pm

Hey Recursor,
I ade a profile just to say that i Love your game. For 48 hours... I doubt that anyone that I know could do better. Sadly, onyl participants can enter... but this is my imaginary vote for you!

recursor says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 4:11pm

@Henslinatr: Thanks for the vote of confidence Mr A.H.

pekuja says ...
Aug 30, 2010 @ 5:29pm

I was unable to have any fun with this. The robots shoot too fast and the hacking takes too long (?). I walked up to the robot, and I think my guy started hacking it, but then the robot turned back and killed me, so either it's too hard or I just didn't get it.

GBGames says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 3:08pm

I found it got really difficult in the third level, but once I got the hang of it, I made it a few levels later. I like the robot voice. It made me laugh a few times. B-)

recursor says ...
Sep 2, 2010 @ 3:48pm

@pekuja: Yes, the fact that it is unclear that you have actually hacked the robot was brought up earlier. Something that I have since made more clear (I hope). Once you touch the robot, he is instantly hacked.

@GBGames: Was it in trying to hack the WheelBot right above the exit door? If so, then I feel your pain. It is doable as you have already said, but it turned out to be more difficult than I had intended.

sirGustav says ...
Sep 4, 2010 @ 10:45am

hard given the one hit kill, and the platforming felt a little spacy, though maybe that was intended. i really didn't like that when hacked you could kill yourself really easy

hamburger says ...
Sep 6, 2010 @ 4:15pm

I really liked this! An interesting mechanic well executed, though I found it really hard with just the two lives and didn't get past the third level. Love the Portal-esque robot voice.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]