Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Cargo

by josemorval - Jam Entry

In Space Cargo, you take the role of an Spaceport operator. Your work in simple: allocate the hold luggage in a way you optimize the space avaliable under the spaceship. Furthermore, for each spaceship, you have a specific minimum level of capacity that must be filled with luggage.

This is the wonderful story behind Space Cargo...but, in fact...this game is simply another kind-of-irregular-tetris-with-some-procedural-shapes.

Controls and rules:
- Space key and mouse
- If you don't have any luggage in your cursor, press left mouse button to gather one.
- If you have one, press left mouse button to drop it.
- If you put the luggage outside the spaceship, in the shield of the spaceship, or over other luggage you will lost this luggage (ah yes...and you'll lose some points)

...and that's all...maybe :) Enjoy it!

Music credit:
- Song: We're The Resistors
- Artist: Erik Skiff
- URL: http://ericskiff.com/music/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Innovation(Jam)3.70
#279Mood(Jam)3.45
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#496Graphics(Jam)3.41
#616Theme(Jam)3.26
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

IdoDolev says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

very fun, love the art and the music.
the game is very cool

neondx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:30pm

very nice concept

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31pm

AH! Another space cargo game! :D Great idea! ;) Really enjoyed this and fun to see two different approaches to the same theme. Nice work.

eeely says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:33pm

ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ it's Good

martymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:36pm

great concept, graphics and music ...well done!

concalf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Love the idea. It is surprisingly satisfying to play:D

bison says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:42pm

nice concept an very relaxing and the music matches the visual art style perfectly.
Extra points for Mood ;)

Raysangar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Really nice game. Music and style match perfectly

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:22pm

It started of great right away with that music! The gameplay was simple but still really fun and the presentation (graphics) was really excellent. Well done! :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Interesting challenge, I became addicted. Nice game!

foodzilla says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:20am

The music and art is very good. Reward feedback (or at least a clearer idea that we have to 'launch' the ship) would be good.

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Really nice idea, but I felt like I was so pushed for time, there was no opportunity to wait for the shapes to spin and optimally fit them in my spaceship before the level ended. So I just randomly dotted them about as fast as I could. Maybe I'm just bad? However, the game was fun, the graphics and sound were splendid, the game looked and felt really nice.

josemorval says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Thank you very much Haighstrom! I totally agree you...there is no time to enjoy "fill the ship with shapes" mechanic...it's something I'll fix in a next version. Thanks so much again :)

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:37am

hahah, i love this idea. nice presentation and great mood! would be great on a phone with some tweaking of the controls, you should release a version for that! thanks!:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]