Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tales of Atom

by desmondyeong - Jam Entry

You play as a little creature name Atom, where it can change into different elements; fire, water, wind and electric when it touches the transformation pads. Each of them have different strengths and weaknesses based on the environment of the level, such as Fire Atom can go through lava but Electric Atom caused it to reverse your controls or Water Atom can go through water but Wind Atom caused it to float on water. Some transformation pads can't transform Atom when it's in certain transformation like Water Atom can't change into Fire Atom on the fire transformation pad.

This is a game where you have to experiment the elemental relationships and learn them through the puzzles and obstacles in the level. Remember your elements and remember to transform your Atom!

Basic Controls:
Left and right key to move
Space to jump
Up key to go up the ladder

Hope you enjoy our first game jam game!
Any constructive feedback are welcome.

Team Come and Go consists of:
Designed:
Yuvine Tang
Art:
Dania Kamrul Arifin
Programmers:
Desmond Yeong and Jia Hao
Sound effects from Soundbible.com

Extra credits:
Isabell Liang for team name
Game Founder Asia HQ for the facilities

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#502Graphics(Jam)3.40
#791Innovation(Jam)2.75
#1033Fun(Jam)2.40
#1068Overall(Jam)2.60
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Man, this game is difficult... The movements and physics are also incredibly weird at times. Like, why does the lightning form make you move BACKWARDS in lava? Still, it has potential to be an interesting puzzle game.

Skyshifter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48am

Pros:
-Cute sprites and consistent artstyle
-Fits the theme
-Interesting concept that could be expanded on
-Simple

Cons:
-In game physics is janky and weird at places
-Spikes are an ass to deal with
-Speed spikes a lot at places (zooming everywhere as Spark form only to swim so very slowly underwater)

As the guy before me said, has a lot of potential to be better game-play wise and hope to see your other entries if you participate in future jams :D

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:32pm

The controls and physics need some refinement but overall good concept

xavier6351 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Pros:
- Fit theme
- Good idea on shape shifting due to Atom need to change form/element to fit the puzzle
- Cute design on Atom model
- have potential on its future growth

Cons:
- some of the element changing panel its can't interact
- "jump" action easily being block by terrain due to the terrain space.
- floating and ascending is too slow on lava and water
- No save point
- Bug while in mid air, as i consequently tapping left/right button while facing wall Atom will stick on the wall.

Thanks for the game, it had caught my attention to continue until found bug and no save but overall its quite good. Keep up the good work, this game still have a lot of space to improve.
=D

desmondyeong says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:39pm

I think the element changing platform you mean is due to the mechanic where only fire and lightning interchangeable and water and leaf interchangeable. And the neutral is the changing medium. Thanks for all the feedbacks.

egos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44pm

nice idea but the control are so hard and chaotics
Maybe its the collision when pleyr is front to a wall
Anyway good job

cicanci says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

The collision needs more work but the game is really nice. Well done!

blaclegi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:15pm

The graphics nice, but the physics sometimes messes up sometimes. I liked the concept and it was very difficult. But apart from that good work!

adam says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:09am

I thought this idea was quite promising with the different ways the character interacts with the environment. Unfortunately the movement controls are quite frustrating to use which means that it's difficult to appreciate any other part of the experience. In particular, the way you lose all your vertical momentum when you brush a wall makes jumping onto a higher ledge trickier than it needs to be, and it's agonising how slow the character ascends in liquid.

cynicalmonkey says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:34pm

has some good core ideas but man the controls made this a bit of a nightmare to play, it was really hard to control, your jump changed power based on how close you were to a wall. the level design you start gave you such little freedom to get comfortable with how to move.

try and break down a level a little more. look for a youtube series called Game Makers Toolkits video on Mario Level design. It talks about a design idea used in alot of Mario games.

a level introduces a mechanic, gives you an easily achievable section with that mechanic with no risk of death before giving you a harder one with risk of death before ending the level with an advanced section.

with some tighter platforming controls, slower introduction of the changes, and some safe challenges designed around exploring the differences you would of had a really interesting little game here

lanestp says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Nice game and nicely designed but the jumping controls need some major work. It could be a lot of fun but it took me 5 minutes to climb the first tower then I fell down and was insta-killed.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:13pm

The jumping is extremely buggy (most of the time you end up getting stuck on walls) but I like the art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]