Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

OneHourShaper

by CrazyMatt - Compo Entry

Realm the (8 Level, 288px by 288px) world as a portrait or landscape "You!" and try to get to every goal.

I forgot so I quickly made this in a little over an hour! (I spent too much time on the music, should've spent it on more levels and graphics...).

Use the Arrow keys to run over the yellow "Shifters" to change orientation. In some cases, you have a random chance of being vertically or horizontally oriented. However, NEVER run into the red walls!

Things Used:
GameMaker: Studio
MUSAGI
Paint.NET

BUGFIX 1:
4-17-16 - 21:56 - Fixed bug making level 6 impassible. Old version is http://www.crazymatt.net/LD35.gmz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#557Audio2.33
#804Innovation2.50
#821Theme2.67
#844Fun2.47
#892Graphics1.27
#917Overall2.40
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08am

Love puzzle games

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

Simple but fun. The random changing was frustrating though.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:03am

should relabel the 'web' link as a windows download

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:18pm

For a game made under an hour, it's pretty nice! Simple and fun concept, and easy enough to make you keep playing. The music is well done too!

Good work :)

2kah says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Very good for a game made in an hour!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Nicely done, and impressive for such a short development time! Obviously it would be nice to just restart a level and not the whole game when you lose. Also, having the red squares block you instead of kill you would have largely the same effect but be a little more user friendly.

Alphish says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

The first thing that I could notice, is that graphics are really horrid (and you have no excuse for that; choosing the better colours wouldn't take much more time and still work; heck, black and white would work better).
Another, that menu is mouse-controlled instead of keyboard-controlled, despite the gameplay not using mouse ("press any key to advance" would be better).
Then, once I got back to the game, I've found that re-playing the game after losing causes the soundtrack to overlap, so I had to pretty much restart whenever I lost (i.e. aside from my first attempt, whenever I reached that level with other random switcher).

However, the puzzle idea itself isn't really that bad and, properly expanded upon, could make for a really fun game. Some puzzle game design related advice:
- no such thing as random switchers; I imagine their very existence is just because you didn't have time to make it so that YOU doesn't change every single frame when it stands on some switcher, am I right?
- no restarting the game for a single slip-up, there's really no point; this game has no skill/timing-based challenges (unless someone has hyperperception allowing them to time random switchers transformation just right), but relies on figuring out the correct sequence of steps instead; once that sequence is known, there's no point to make player repeat the challenge over and over again

I hope the next time you won't forget about Ludum Dare, and choose the colours better. ^^'

El Cabaro says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I mean, it is a game. Grats for making it in 1.5 hours. The random part late in the game where you have a 50% chance of simply restarting was a bit frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]