Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Slide-by-Shootin

by lambda- - Jam Entry

Hello,

so this was our (team of 2) first Ludum Dare and we decided to implement a shapeshifting mechanic into a racing game.
Most art used was created by us, besides two of Kenney's isometric vehicles (http://kenney.nl/assets/isometric-vehicles), as well as all the sound and music. Both of us being more on the programming side of things, it looks and sounds accordingly.
We definitly had our fun and learned new things.

The game was made in Unity, so we uploaded the windows build below.
Game is controlled with mouse and keyboard and controls are explained in the game / screenshot:
WASD - Driving
Shift - Shapeshift
Mouse - Aiming and firing (left mouse button)

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#624Audio(Jam)2.53
#642Innovation(Jam)2.94
#664Theme(Jam)3.19
#730Fun(Jam)2.88
#877Overall(Jam)2.88
#931Mood(Jam)2.47
#982Graphics(Jam)2.44
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24am

Quite tough to get a hold of the controls, and enemies are very good at it, so it feels kinda frustrating. Neat starting concept, but I think it needs more thought.

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34am

It reminds me Micromachines and all of this good stuff :D

taviandir says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:39am

Difficult but lots of fun! Wouldn't have minded if it was a bit more zoomed out. Felt a little like the bots had omni-vision but I couldnt see anything in order to aim at someone :)
Good job!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Fun racing game, a little confusing and the visuals for me looked super pixelated. A great concept though.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02am

Great game, the shapeshifting was really nice and fun in this game

ConorOD says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Nice concept, but too tough. Enemies would frequently shoot me from way across the map. You also can't see far enough ahead to effectively use the turret. But definitely something promising there.

oparisy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:01pm

The idea is nice, event if I had difficulties with the controls. I appreciated a lot the detailed help and proper menus.

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:33pm

looks like bots are a bit to powerfull

Ellian says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Alright! I wish it had tank controls, but otherwise this was pretty darn fun! Awesome work you two, loved it!

Crefossus says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:26am

The car movement felt like you got the right amount of control for the track and was actually really fun to drive. Sand/mainpath friction felt right. The smoke particles were a nice touch. I liked trying to plan out when to go into turret mode since you lose turning.

As other said the offscreen shots are a bit repressive. However, you also get the same ability! Well.. except knowing exactly where they are :) Perhaps adding feedback to when you destroy an enemy offscreen might let you try doing offscreen shots more.

Just having the enemies shoot only if they are a bit closer is probably the easiest solution though. Or maybe you can have a shapeshift that brings up a shield, but puts on the breaks a little while you use it to block enemy shots?

Audio - engine and shot sounds were good (you can use it to help mitigate the off screen shots too.. sorta) but the drum loop is too short. I may have played even longer if not for drum loop and needing other audio cues.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]