Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shift

by staircase27 - Compo Entry

My first entry for Ludum Dare! Written in more like 12 hours of coding time.

Your challenge is to delete all the shapes by removing sides till they run out of sides using the "bullets" provided.

Bullets bounce off flat sides of shapes and are deflected by slopping sides but pass straight on if they hit a point.

If the bullet adds or removes sides is determined by the colours of the bullet and the shape. The rule is that shoot red with green, green with blue or blue with red to remove a side and the opposite to add a side. Bullets fired on shape of same color do nothing. (The symbol on the right is meant to be a reminder of this)

The colour of the shapes is also changed by bullets with rotational arrows on them by rotating the shapes color in the direction show based on the circle of colors shown on the right.

To play choose your bullet (from the three choices at the bottom) either by clicking on it or pressing the key for it, then select where to fire it from by either clicking at the edge of the row/column or pressing a direction key and typing in the row/column number and pressing enter.

Enjoy :)

Note: To run on linux/anything other than windows you will have to install love2d (https://love2d.org/). The downloading issues are now fixed.


EDIT: I have improved the description above in response to some of the comments. Due to lack of time I didn't manage to add a description in game. The symbol on the right of the screen is meant to be a help but wasn't clear and I didn't have time to improve it. It also was never meant to be full instructions. I have also added the web version

I have produced a version with more game modes, a few tutorial levels and a help message similar to above. It can be downloaded from http://www.darkfieldgames.com/blog/shape-shift-ludum-dare/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#395Innovation3.21
#435Theme3.41
#574Humor1.88
#747Mood2.33
#849Overall2.64
#921Fun2.00

Comments

Qrr says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Can't download the game on Win. Try uploading it to the dropbox or something like that.

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55am

Had no idea what i was doing, had potential though, maybe a small tutorial to get the mechanics would have been nice

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56am

I like the idea of the puzzle but I have no idea what's happening. Like @Saymon says, it needs a tutorial demonstrating the mechanics.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Took me a bit to figure out everything, but it works as a little puzzle game :)

h2n0 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:17pm

If there was a short explanation at the beginning of the game it would work far better than just throwing the player into the game. There may be something here though. I think it would work well as a mobile game.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:26pm

So, I guess the idea is that puzzle is figuring out how it works, right?

Here is what I found out so far. To reduce shapes, you need to shoot a color with the next color in RGB (so you need to shoot red with green, green with blue, blue with red). The other way around makes the shapes grow. If two same colors meet, it stays the same.

The arrows on ammo means that all the shapes it meets change color like red > green > blue > red.

I have no idea about the direction control though. Apparently if there is a triangle, it goes in the direction the triangle is pointing. If you approach a shape from a side where it has perpendicular side to your direction, it bounces you back and nothing happens to the shape. But this rule is not universal either.

So yeah. I don't get it. I guess I lost.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Good use of the theme, though like others I had a bit of trouble understanding the mechanics. Even still I managed to clear a good number of shapes. I felt like I almost had it but was missing one or two critical pieces of information.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:36pm

I think this game is desperately in need of a tutorial. Maybe you could flesh it out in your description?

staircase27 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:11pm

@BoltKey: I have updated the description with a hopefully better description of the rules. If you have seen bullets not bounce of a flat side then please let me know.

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Well, on my opinion is too complex. I got the rules but it's hard do keep in mid which colour adds edges and how colours are changed. Probably it can be simplified. Some graphics improvements and it can be good game.

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04am

Needs a how to play :D

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Damn...One of the most obscure, complicated and fun puzzle game I've tried in this jam. Congratulation on the concept, pretty awesome, got my brain going.

I'd make the "grid" more visible, took me a while to figure out I could throw in bullets from sides and whatnot. Putting some graphics for rows and columns would help a lot.
Also, the "hint" on the right should be clearer at all times.

Otherwise, very nice!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:46pm

This really needs a "follow my instructions to learn how to play" tutorial or levels with increasing difficulties that introduce new concepts one at a time. The red/green/blue relationships are really hard to figure out.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:30am

Interesting mechanics, but again - not as many mentioned - not sure what I was doing. perhaps it was too complicated at the start?

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:30am

Fun innovative puzzle game.

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:31am

Nice game but i thing it is really difficult. It took my several tries to understand how it worked. Maybe a tutorial would help?That said i was really well made i liked that you basically had each color interact with the other 2 in different ways.Good job

staircase27 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:35am

I had always intended to have multiple levels of difficulty, a tutorial and instructions in game but ran out of time. There is now a new version that might explain it better linked in the description above. Also there is a summary of the rules in the description above

staircase27 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:35am

Also thanks everyone for trying it and the feedback :)

serp says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:43am

I like it but I don't really know what I'm doing. And then i got a square and It just wouldn't go away.

jonask says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:40am

You need a better tutorial. Took me a while to understand that you can send shapes from all angles. Interesting concept though.

May 9, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Nice work! The game was really hard to understand initially, but very clever and creative. A bit more tutorial levels/information and this could be super challenging and fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]