Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morph Man

by Leroyii - Jam Entry

Jump, dash, and morph your way through spikes and disappearing platforms!



This is my first game jam and I'm currently in high school. It was quite fun (and tiring) to make.
Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#180Fun(Jam)3.57
#228Innovation(Jam)3.50
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#678Audio(Jam)2.17

Comments

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15am

That was a cool game mechanic. It took a bit of getting used to. Would be better if the levels kind of ramped you up to it slower with more examples.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:03am

interesting game, not my cup of tea, but other ppl will like this.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:40am

Really interesting mechanics, but a little bit hard to control. The super-simple art style lloked cool though :)

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:48am

Fun. But oh my god is it hard. Also, takes some getting used to with respect to transforming in the air. I've accidentally touched spikes by transforming mid air.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Nice concept. Took me some time to get used to the controls. Maybe some rebindable keys would help. Other than that cool game! Great job.

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Great first ludum dare :) Will not try to beat your score of 166 seconds. Mine was 1460. The controls felt really hard to get used to since having W and UP being different things. A and D keys charge for left and right so intuitively I'd press W to charge up but that's on the UP key. The level design is actually very good and shows some sign of genius in it like 'i wanna be the guy' or 'super meat boy' games. But they had their controls down where the player felt in full control; although yours to an extent did, the layout needed revising.

Good work overall!

torcado says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:05pm

interesting idea, but i couldnt get past one of the levels so i gave up.

KappaIX says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:24pm

I actually really quite enjoyed this! After getting the hang of the controls, you can really see a lot thats possible with the idea!

Well done!

t4u says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Either difficult controls or difficult game. It was so so.

draq22 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I love this game! Last level is very hard!

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Good idea. Sound needs work - the charging up sound gets on the nerves after a while.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Nice game. Good Gameplay, keeep up :)
try our game
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

blackoptics8 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Feels like it could use some music, but it was very well done. The mechanics were great along with the level design (though when jumping across some of the spikes it made me restart even though I was 3 character heights above them) and matched the theme. Glad you enjoyed the jam! ;D

antarka says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:04am

Cool game. Hard gameplay but i like it! At start you need to make text like "D" key == right dash etc.. Not clear at the start.

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:56pm

It was very challenging and interesting

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Good game! I didn't understand at the beginning that the shape had an influence in the control, but when I discovered (after die a lot of times) I've started to enjoy the game.

Tselmek says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:41am

Very polished entry, the mechanic is interesting and the level design gives some nice and tough challenge. The audio feedback is nicely done too, good job.

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:20am

Fun platformer, but the shape-shifting seemed superficial.
I couldn't beat it because of a bug that caused me to die every time I landed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]