Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Cloak-ed Man

by TinyHugger - Compo Entry

The world is a line, of which goes on forever.
One man, one cloaked man, in fact, goes down this world, searching for an end. He is sure there is an end. There's an end to everything, after all.
This man has walked the road forever plus one. He believes he has but an infinite amount of time left to get through.
The man can't jump. Or crouch. He can only move left and right. And become a ghoast.
Is there an end?
Why can the man become a ghoast?
What is at the end of the world?
All of this, and more, will be explained in The Cloak-ed Man.

Out now.

Controls:
Left or Right - Arrow Keys
Shrinking and/or Growing - Spacebar
Exit - Escape Key

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#830Innovation2.40
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

PremadeGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:01am

Very interesting concept!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Please don't make us download installers.

TinyHugger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:58pm

I must admit: it was the only way I could think of allowing people to download my game. The was the first time I was at all trying this competition, and I didn't really understand how the whole downloading thing worked. I'm sorry if the way you download the game didn't attract you.

tomlum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45am

I think there's a bug...? Or maybe I don't know how to play the game... There are two of me, and one's upside down? And I can't get out of the box... And I can move up and down but that doesn't seem to be a control you explained. So I don't really know what to do.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

It is an interesting concept, to walk forever. I do like the shifting to the small shape, to allow you more movement. This game feels like a hint into the afterlife. I did get stuck at a point, I could not move past the wall, and shifting small I moved behind it, and got stuck there. Still a nice attempt :)

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

I wasn't quite sure what to do, or what was happening.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Either this doesn't make any sense or it is severely broken. I really liked the music and the look of the graphics, but there's making an arty game and then there is making something that gives every impression of not working. I was really curious what this was and I really am completely non-plussed.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Definitely confused as to what/how I should be doing. I can shift into the ghost and move above the screen, then move right for a long time....nothing else?

Music sounded nicely eerie to fit the style of the game.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:43am

I don't get it. I can't move past the first wall, and if I press space while pressing left it seems to glitch out and move the camera right so that the character is out of view.

TinyHugger says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:18am

I can understand confusion with how playing the game works. I'll eventually get on to making a better version of the game. For now, I can only say this: I'm working on a gameplay video. In the meantime, enjoy trying to beat the frustrating game I tiredly made for little reason whatsoever. I do enjoy what you fine folks say, and I really do enjoy any feedback you give me.
Thank you.

~TinyHugger

Paulgami says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:46pm

I'm afraid I don't really get what's going on here. Maybe it was glitched, or maybe it's just me. It's got a nice atmosphere though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]