Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The adventures of Wizard Hamster: The epic battle with dreadful Robot Cactus!

by Shizor - Jam Entry

The adventures of Wizard Hamster: The epic battle with dreadful Robot Cactus!

Wizard Hamster is trapped on a small island in space by Robot Cactus, how long can you survive his dastardly laser stare?
Dig through the objects laying around on the island to disguise yourself as Robot Cactus' favorite item, so that he won't notice you...

Controls:
- Move: WASD/Arrow Keys
- Shapeshift: Hold Spacebar
- Throw item: Tap Spacebar

Made by:
- @Shizor (code)
- Thelastreturn (art)
- Naxwell (design)

Background music: Chromix - Spacergif

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Humor(Jam)3.91
#115Theme(Jam)3.96
#213Mood(Jam)3.57
#226Audio(Jam)3.48
#232Graphics(Jam)3.91
#283Innovation(Jam)3.39
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#393Overall(Jam)3.39
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:05pm

It could have been an episode of south park. :)
Nice little game, design is very good, idea is original, great execution in overall :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Very cute. I think the premise is hilarious. There were a few times where I did not transform into the thing I was directly next to though. Great Job overall.

omidprosper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45pm

very Cool Game
(کارت درسته داداش)

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52pm

LOL THIS GAME!

Cute arts, sounds and music was good. However, I have trouble morphing into objects cos they're sometimes too close to each other, and accidentally morph into the other object instead. Maybe you could spread the items out a lil bit more. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03pm

LoL that was hilarious and adorable. Thank you for sharing it. Good use of the theme.

Full marks for innovation and humor. :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13pm

South Park anyone. Funny game, some minor bug in the shape shifting but mainly a nice execution of the game.

JHemmings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

A fun quick game, I loved the artsyle! I also liked how you could throw an item if it was too close to another, so well thought out there. Nice!

Krammetje says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Game looks great and is fun to play. Its really enjoyable.

Shizor says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03am

You can throw away items by tapping space bar as you only morph into the item on top of others in front of you, maybe this feature isn't clear enough :p

danbolt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:31am

Cool game! I liked the instantaneous hamster-zapping. The fatalistic flair was fun to play.

Sometimes, I found it a bit hard to line the hamster up with the specific object I was trying to imitate, and that was a bit frustrating. Thankfully, the quick nature of the game allowed me to get back and try it again. This would probably make a nice ad-supported mobile game.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Very enjoyable game, nice graphics and fun gameplay.

marod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:06am

Amazing art!

orukinawa says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:48am

This is really well made. Loves the art and audio

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:59am

Fun little game. Sometimes it felt like I didn't shapeshift into the closest object, which got me killed a few times, but I enjoyed it none the less.

Great graphics!

Tacohej says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:24am

Lemmiwinks the game? Good job on graphics and sound. Did also have problems transforming when even when I was standing upon an object, but overall ok gameplay.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Very silly, in a good way.

nihilaleph says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:25am

Lemmiwinks! kkkk Great artwork and audio! Concept is really nice too, it was really funny xp Too bad the unicorn never helped me... kkk. Though as some people already pointed out, I too had some problems with shapeshifting to the closest object.. But still great entry!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Like the face of the hamsterbooks !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]