Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Feel the Rampage

by Paploum - Jam Entry

Synopsis:
You are a psychotic knight that has to defeat as many enemy waves as he can !
Slaughter all your enemies using the different attacks you have, and using your overpowered state, YOUR TROLL FORM !
Have fun and spill some blood !!

Gameplay:
This game is intended to be played with a controller, but you might play with a keyboard as well.

////////////////////////////////////////////////
Control:
Keyboard | Controller

Left click => A / base attack
Click => B / strong attack
G => R1 / tranformation
Arrows => Left Joystick / movement

////////////////////////////////////////////////

Roles:
Nicolas Constanty => Programmer, animator, graphist (many asset integration)
Fernand Veyrier => Programmer, sound designer, artistic director
Adrien Wery => System administrator

Tools:
Unity3D, Audacity, Gimp, Blender.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#294Audio(Jam)3.35
#609Graphics(Jam)3.20
#658Humor(Jam)2.19
#764Mood(Jam)2.80
#814Theme(Jam)2.95
#891Fun(Jam)2.67
#926Overall(Jam)2.82
#1112Innovation(Jam)1.90
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

f222 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:24am

Great game, nice audio, just a bit laggy on bad computers

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

Good use of the theme and the sound was really good.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:55am

pretty cool. Graphics and atmosphere are great! I liked the level design. The controls were clunky and the camera was a bit glitchy and my view kept getting blocked by things. also, if I kept getting hit while the death animation was playing, it would get stuck playing the animation until it finished without me getting hit.

Yngar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:25am

I know its the jam and rules are less strict than compo but using that much asset store stuff feels really against the spirit of the jam.

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:52am

@Yngar : Yes you are absolutely right . Usually we make ourselves our asset but this time we wanted to make a 3D game. This Ludum was an opportunity for us to learn the entire animation / 3D part of Unity :)

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:54am

AWESOME game and the graphics were amazing too, loved this game !!!!

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:37am

Nice atmosphere with good looking assets and sound. Transforming is really statisfying as you look like you could be a Boss monster (maybe an animation / some particles would have made it even better).

Too bad that ennemies spawn at such irregular rates. In this kind of game you almost want a constant stream of challenge. Also, would have been nice to be able to hold left click to attack.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:59am

Very cool game. Good animations and sound - fits the theme well.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:30pm

The concept of the game's pretty fun, as I love top-down/isometric hack'n slash games, specially if they have combos and an overpowered state! :D

The graphics are nice, even though assets, and they were nicely chosen for the concept. An animation for the transformation would be really nice though. :) Camera, sometimes, doesn't help much and sometimes the animation/characters get stuck, I had this specially with the Troll form.

Nice choice for audio and soundtrack, both pretty well done and integrated into the game, I feel that some "punch" could be added to the "Time for a Rampage!" sound, but don't know how. :P

Controls were kinda different for my XB controler here, as the setup was X (light attack), A (jump) and B (strong attack. Sometimes, I could only properly "kill" by using the strong attack also.

For the waves, I feel that some of the progression feeling is missing, like an evolution each wave.

Nevertheless, the game's pretty fun and I hope you keep working on it! :)

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:20pm

First of all, you don't have to include the .pdb files in your download these are debugging symbols databases, this could save ~40MB download size.

The game looks really good, but for rating your game it would be nice if you'd clarify what you did yourself and what you used from the asset store. Also the sounds/music is self-made or also from somewhere else?

As for the game, it is unfortunately quite glitchy. The Camera is jittery and the image is obscured by ceiling decorations sometimes. The movement fells floaty and awkwardly slow, especially in the troll form. Also it would be really nice to have combined animations for jumping + attacking etc.

There also a few bugs with the menu state. After I died no further waves spawned after choosing play again. And the character keeps moving when you enter the menu while it is already moving.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:13am

Hi, nice game ! ... did you this in only 74 h ?! Cool... We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Good music , good graphs , nice experience ! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]