Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shaze (Shape Maze)

by Alphius - Compo Entry

This was my first LD, yet I'm really proud of myself.

What I love with this game is that the fact that the graphics are ugly and that there is no sound makes totally sense when you reach the end of the game.
You understand why this game is the way it is, and why there should not have amazing graphics/musics.

I have to say that this theme was a really hard one. On the 7 hours I spent to create this game, 3 were used to find an idea. And that's a lot of time!

Hope you'll play, hope you'll have fun. I can't wait to play and rate your games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#129Overall3.71
#171Theme3.81
#190Fun3.54
#251Innovation3.48

Comments

Knowledge says ...
Apr 16, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, pretty hard puzzles!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:50am

lol, yes it's a shifter!!! :) Nice work on the puzzles. The first one was the hardest for me... for some reason! Also if you press the up arrow and the right arrow at the same time then your shapes shift... :) Nice job!

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:53pm

I got as far as the puzzle with 4 shapes and just could not get more than 3 together at the same time.

This is nice, I like your game a lot. The puzzles are well-crafted, and the progression is good. I'm apparently just a little inept ;)

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:57am

I'm way to burnt out after jamming for 48 hours but this is a game I will definitely come back to when I have the mental capacity to tackle it!

Really like the narrative so far and am looking forward to finding out more. Great job!

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04am

I lied, I kept playing, really addictive and well made!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:32am

Nice puzzle game, have never encountered something like this!

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:32am

Damn hard dude. :D But super fun! Simple, little game. I can imagine a nice, polished mobile app would get you nice download rates!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

I got to the one after you introduce the "press shift" mechanic - it got reaaalllly hard, in a good way :D

sbeif says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:49am

well made puzzle, also quite hard

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:46pm

I love how simple this is visually and yet the story brings the inanimate shapes to life

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:39pm

First off, congrats on your first Ludum Dare. This isn't a bad entry. Simple enough mechanics that make sense and you've made some decent levels with them. Definitely enjoyed my time.

On the critical side of things:
The writing's a bit too pretentious for my taste. Doesn't add much to the game, doesn't really hold any consistent narrative arc. There's a bit of a buildup to the finale but it feels forced and coarse. The ending twist is unexpected, but not satisfying. I think I would've preferred a "Thanks for Playing!" with a drawing of a thumbs up. But that's just me.

That being said, the narrative does lend the game some cohesion and encourage the player to keep going, so I've got mixed feelings on the matter. I definitely think you should have spent more time on the writing, even at the cost of one or two of the levels, to make the experience more satisfying.

Regarding gameplay: the game's desperately missing an undo button. All mistakes are undoable but it can take a hell of a lot of effort to compensate for a single wrong buttonpress. Telling the player to press 'r' to restart should happen in the second or third level, not halfway through the game. I had to use that key several times before the game told me; stumbled on it by accident.

In terms of presentation, the graphics are fine, really. Not beautiful, but functional. Could benefit from a stronger minimalist ethic (solid colors instead of gradients, a cleaner white background with a very subtle grid overlay, either thicker borders or no borders on the shapes, and more visible end-points), but that's just aesthetic preference. I've seen worse :P
The cut between levels is a bit too abrupt imo. A fade out->fade in, or a 'good job! press any button to continue' would've given the player a second to savor the victory before throwing them back in the fray. Though I guess that doesn't fit the lore as much :P

Mantlair says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Core mechanic was a known one but nice additions with gum and `Shift`. Puzzles were challenging. Enjoyed! Keep it up for the next LD's!
(You must put humour to votings. Tell me when you do to get a nice rating.)

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28pm

really cool, makes my brain have to work :-D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:54pm

I'm a big fan of puzzle games

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:42am

This is a very cool puzzle game, with a nice set of mechanics. I had a lot of fun playing all the way to the end. The gameplay is responsive, and the puzzles are open-ended enough that you can get a sense of really exploring a level. Great work!

DeltaNegative says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Really cool brain-teaser! ;)

Alphish says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:54pm

So, is the name Bill Cipher? W.D. Gaster? I couldn't see it, because I accidentally keypressed once too much, and skipped the great reveal. ^^'
(Satan/Devil? Naaah, that would be too easy)

Either way, I probably enjoyed the shapeshifting mechanics more than multiple-shapes-at-once movement; then again, the latter may be caused by you using too many shapes at once (misapplied idea rather than one that's inherently bad). Bubble gum was somewhat interesting, but I don't quite see why it's a *bubble gum*. ^^'

The game makes for a decent puzzle, though nothing too original nor exceptional (I and many others came up with multiple-entities-at-once idea years ago). There is some story, but I didn't really enjoy the writing, and it kinda seemed like its main purpose was to justify the bad audiovisuals. >.<

Still, considering it's your first ever LD and you spent on it 7 hours, it's quite promising. Keep improving. ^^

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Well made puzzles, difficulty scales well and it's really satisfying getting them down. Good Job.

thedashdude says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:12am

I couldn't beat the (I think) last level, but a nice puzzle game.

DcrDro says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:22pm

very nice entry, good job man !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]