Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shadow Shifter

by Broken Matrix - Compo Entry

You are the Shadow Shifter! Shape shift into different forms to get around and solve puzzles to get the Shadow Crystals!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Theme3.43
#458Mood2.95
#527Innovation3.00
#541Graphics2.86
#563Overall3.10
#587Fun2.95
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:54am

NOTE: Level 10 is not available in the level selector so you will have to get to it yourself. :)

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:48am

Great game!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:52am

Movement and collision was a bit glitchy - I got stuck in the environment quite a bit. Has the beginnings of a promising puzzle game though - just needs a few more mechanics to flesh it out.

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

The controls are a bit finicky, but the idea of four types of shapes is cool. I kinda hoped they had more distinct roles, but can't really get all that in just two days. :) Nice job!

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58am

Cool idéa! Little wonky controls though :)

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:53am

I thought this was the start of a potentially pretty cool puzzle game. My biggest complaint was the controls felt awkward (all left hand)

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Got stuck in a wall in the third level.

nickavv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37am

Nice mechanics! I also got caught in the environment, but it's pretty good and with some polish it could be an awesome game

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:14am

i did twice the tuto but after that it was cool

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Interesting concept. I found the game a little dark, though (realize it's called Shadow Shifter). Controls were a bit funky. Could be an interesting game if developed further.

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Very nice game with a lot of content for a gamejam. not bad! The core mechanics work well and it was fun, going through the different levels. The controls feel not 100% precise but that's no big problem for me. On my display everything was very dark and hard to see.
Well executed!

Jin47 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Great game I am not pretty fan of the controls's feeling but the level design is nice. Good job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]