Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morphomancer

by MrNyarlathotep - Jam Entry

Use the power of SHAPESHIFTING to solve PUZZLES!

My third LD entry, could have been a compo entry but I didn't like the theme, so let my lack of motivation stretch my work out longer than necessary...

Like all my other LD entries, I'll throw my assets up on OpenGameArt later.
I would post source, but its a Jam entry and my code is meeeesssssssy as hell
EDIT: What the hell, maybe I did something someone else wants to know how to do. Pasted it all in a pastebin XD

Tools used:
* Unity for all the heavy lifting
* Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 for art stuffs
* The eternally useful BFXR for my SFX with some cleanup in Audacity
* Beepbox for my 'music'

Providing the HTML5 webGL player for largest platform compatibility

EDIT: As promised, threw all my assets up on Open Game Art; link below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#338Theme(Jam)3.60
#586Audio(Jam)2.68
#711Overall(Jam)3.05
#756Innovation(Jam)2.80
#762Humor(Jam)1.90
#821Fun(Jam)2.77
#915Mood(Jam)2.54
#997Graphics(Jam)2.38

Comments

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:53pm

I don't like the game, sorry it just feels boring :/
It's a decent puzzle game though and the graphics are not bad. The audio also is ok

divegato says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:58pm

I like the potions mechanic. It makes for an interesting puzzle game.

Tijn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Good job on finishing, even though you didn't like the theme much. The concept is pretty solid, but the implementation felt a bit glitchy at times. Sometimes I lost my ability + potion without having passed through a barrier, which made it impossible to solve the level. But otherwise it's pretty cool!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:58pm

I liked the thought put into this entry, nice job!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Ohhh There is no azerty

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:57pm

I like the music!
The concept is solid, too. I got misted a couple times without touching the mist, but by being close to it, which is a little frustrating (most notably on the second level), but it's a neat puzzle game.

zondarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Nice little puzzle game, the potions mechanic is promising. Maybe some monsters or other obstacles would make it even more captivating :D

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Very fun and interesting puzzles. Well done. I would have made the potions have some resemblance to the shape you would shift into to help remember which one is which. Maybe an icon on the bottles or something. Besides that I enjoyed playing this.

Dasginger says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50pm

The music for this game is great, and some parts of the puzzles were really cleverly done, good job!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Very nice concept, I was hoping someone would do a puzzle game for a chance, unlike all those plataformers :)

Just a thought, the drums in the music loop were a bit annoying, bur great work nevertheless.

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Nice puzzles. I did however had the character turning on himself changing the control, i don't if it was intended but i restarted anyway.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Decent puzzle mechanics, I like the concept. Art could have done with some polish, and I encountered a game-breaking bug where I was transformed back by the mist onto a water tile, slid back and was unable to progress because I had no more potions.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:03am

Nice little puzzle game, good demonstration of what the potions did through gameplay instead of only text. Good job!

wboqm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:10am

Interesting game, but had trouble remembering what potion did what, which became frustrating.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Nice game, maybe the effect when you pass through mist shouldn't appears if you are not transformed as it can be sometimes confusing

docteurSid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10pm

I couldn't launch the game on Firefox 45 / Ubuntu 14.04 :(

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Nice game, maybe the effect when you pass through mist shouldn't appears if you are not transformed as it can be sometimes confusing

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Interesting puzzle game.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Mechanics and concept are cools. Graphics are mid and musi too. But couldn't passe the tutorial cause of a bug...

Joozey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Nice idea, I like the puzzles and the mechanic. Missing some overall story/goal. Good job!

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Really interesting concept. I really like how you did it

vini60 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:23am

Mechanic and sounds are interesting. Good submit.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Nice potion usage puzzle.

ragnta says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:32am

Nice game, but I missed a duration counter if I transformed :)

Javabot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Love this neat little puzzle game. The last level was rather unclear, I believe it would be a great addition if there were a way to view the whole map.

Beavl says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Really like the design on some levels. With somewhat more polished graphics, this could be great! Congrats!

uheartbeast says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]