Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape maze

by Firephoenix - Compo Entry

You are a pink square in a world where by some magical force you are attracted to the center of any maze. Using WASD keys, get the square to the center of the current maze to get teleported to the entrance of the next one - a slightly harder one. There is no end to it, but the physical restrictions of pixels being too big will stop you from playing at around level 40.

I tried to add the source code and for some weird reason the source link won't show up, so if you want to see the source code on Google Chrome - go to the Web link and press Ctrl + Shift + j. This will open the console, along with access to the HTML elements and the source JS.

EDIT: Now the source thing works, but since I was using 3 different files to handle different things, I have 3 sources to share.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#793Innovation2.53
#858Graphics2.13
#895Theme2.27
#907Fun2.12
#923Overall2.35
#1979Coolness24%

Comments

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:34am

Great work!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09pm

it may be too soon after The Witness for me to think about mazes again

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Maybe some mouse controls would make it funnier. However, it is fun!

neondx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55pm

I would say to you implementing a path finding to know if the center is reachable (and then you could generate always a reachable level)

jessiexjquine says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:34am

Having only 4 cardinal directions on via keyboard controls, the diagonal mazes can get very frustrating and consist of lots of tedious (down, side, down, side, down, side) movement. Mouse controls, or...an on screen joystick?...or mostly square mazes would definitely help. Still the generated mazes themselves look really cool, and the color scheme is simple but it works, and nice use of the theme!

FaeDine says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:09am

I think tweaking the level generation so it's less likely to get unwinnable levels (I had to regenerate a lot of levels 2 or 3 times).

Mouse movement may have helped as the levels had some weird angles. I played it for a few minutes and got to about 12 sides. It looks like more interesting patterns emerge later on though. Bigger increments (instead of 6, 7, 8, 9.. 6, 8, 11, 15, etc.) may have made it a bit more interesting earlier.

Cool submission.

Firephoenix says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:09am

I tried to make mouse controls, but for some weird reason the code just wouldn't work, so I ended up having to use the keyboard. If I had more time, I would probably make use of the mouse.

I also tried everything to make a solver so that there is no regenerate button, but that didn't work out either.

Thanks for all the feedback!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Really nice idea, very frustrating [in a good way] and lovely clean graphics

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:55am

movement not accurate enough for this maze game - nice effort

leo_p_mahon says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Simple and fun. Could do with checking the level is winnable first though! Maybe write an AI to play it and run it through the maze before its presented to the user. I love a bit of procedural generation though!

justacookie says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:09pm

The Mazes are nicely generated and it wasnt easy to find the right way, especially because the green/black color made it hard for my eyes to not get confused. I had fun finding the correct route through the maze, but then actually getting there was a pain when moving diagonally, i had to start over a dozen times. But for anyone that enjoys solving mazes, this is a fun game, thank you for making this :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]