Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Walking Simulator

by Arskiainen - Jam Entry

Welcome to Walking Simulator aka Carpal Tunnel Runner.

I recommend 1280x800 windowed mode.

First go with Unity2D. Learned lots of new stuff. Wish I had more time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor(Jam)3.43
#849Fun(Jam)2.73
#865Graphics(Jam)2.74
#957Overall(Jam)2.76
#959Mood(Jam)2.41
#992Theme(Jam)2.56
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:20pm

butt why tho.

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:20pm

no mn n0mn NO MN

Shael says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:30pm

hahaha

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:02am

Made me chuckle a few times, but apart from that, there's not much there... You do 'shapeshift' though, so well done on that!

ceosol says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38am

Needed to have both hands on the keyboard to move. Horrible controls but awesome game. Was there anything past "I ran out of things to say"?

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25am

I got a laugh out of this game. Overall it's a nice concept! Good job!

Ampera says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

I like it.

Micah Goodhue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

Haha, you took the theme very literally.

ignacioq says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51am

WTF?! Music? or FX? I don't understand. . .

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34am

It's like getting fit in GTA San Andreas, except with like 3 buttons

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:45am

Can't review your game cause my hand hurts too much. Haha.

I like the walk cycle and it made me laugh.

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:32am

Funny little game!
i would have liked it more with some music added to fit the mood

Cowa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:35am

Fun! But food should be bigger, it's hard to see them

Charzendat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24am

Rather have jump mapped to up rather than space, using both hands to walk make it easier to play. And could of done with some obstacles or a challenges, the only thing that made it difficult was the pain I felt in my fingers. Good humour though, I did like it.

wumpus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19pm

I really like your take on shapeshifting and I loved the fall anim.

Lagoe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:10pm

hahahah nice game.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Nice idea, enjoyed the humor and sad it's not longer :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Humor was interesting in this one, and I did guess there will be a lot of "getting fit" games in this LD hah!

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33pm

quite funny

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Fun game. I liked it overall.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Its an easy game but good fun. Reminds me of those sports computer games in eighties where you had to waggle your joystick (sounds a bit rude doesn't it) to run faster.

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Pretty cool! i like the sense of humor.

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Fun little game, but my fingers hurt now ! On both hands ! XD

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:33pm

I hate broccoli so much. I can't believe I fell and couldn't get up, I was looking so fit!

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57pm

This game has nothing to do with the theme at all. And it would be bad if I actually kept playing. Mad my wrist hurt.

ayewyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:52am

way too taxing on the hands.

muffty says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:09pm

:D The dialogs - best!

Cant .. wirte ... long comment ..
Fingers hurt to much!

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Had a good laugh, funny game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]