Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Runner

by verzoto - Compo Entry

Shape runner is a Inifinite with shapes. All you need is shift your shape to match with the object shape. If you can not do this, you lose one life, and if your lifes is over, you lose! How good are you?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Theme3.64
#549Audio2.38
#602Humor1.64
#636Graphics2.70
#638Mood2.65
#682Overall2.95
#702Fun2.78
#830Innovation2.40
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:16am

Made it to score 42... Thats a sign xD...
Maybe not such a smooth movement, sometimes I could not hit some shapes because I passed them by centimeters.
Also it would be cool if I could change back with the right mouse button :P

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:19am

It's hard to allign your shape with the shape that is moving to you...
Also when you go left out of screen the object you control it's height increases which makes it impossible to get points for cubes/circles.
Nice idea, but to buggy as of now.
Will try again tomorow and see if it is any better.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:43am

As @Solocov & @cornand34 said, movement could be snappier, if the player shape aligned to the lanes better, rather than being free movement. It'd still be challenging enough even with that tweak. :)

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:47am

The games looks nice visually, but there seems to be a delay between the key presses and the movements. :)

Przekop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:52am

Nice style, but as it was said before, movement is too fast for so precise task. Also sound of missing the block is so unpleasant XD it would be perfect for alarm clock.

undefinist says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:09am

Interesting game! However, I find it hard to align to shapes, especially at the sides.

steveklabnik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:51am

I agree with what others have said! this is an interesting idea, but I found it hard to align shapes. Maybe I've played too many iPhone games, where there's only three tracks across, I assumed that it worked more like that...

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08am

Really nice graphically, though it lacks in gameplay and gets kinda boring

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16am

Nice Little game. It was pretty fun in its conception, and the lighting/color made the graphics actually pretty nice.The web version was slightly laggy for me, making it a little more challenging to play.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

the visuals are pretty nice, agree with the movement being a little jerky, but still pretty addictive.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55am

Good idea, hard controls.

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:14am

I feel the game would work better if instead moment moved you from several locked positions Ie when you move left and move you one position to the left. But all in all, good game.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

I made 46 points! haha

I think this is a good example of a "shape-shifting" game.

But i also think that you could improve a couple of simple things, like making the movement more "discrete", because is very complicated to align the object with the targets.. also i think that the combination "mouse-keyboard" is odd for this game.. probably all-keyboard control would be better.

Anyway, great work!

Penthaquill says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24am

WOW! This game has to be the best game of this jam! :D I love this will all my heart!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:03am

I really like this game clean visual style.

norseware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:06am

Fun! It would have been nice if when moving from side to side, it'd snap your position. It would made it more engaging - I died too often from barely missing a shape. But nice idea! Good job :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20am

Okay game. Simple graphics, simple gameplay, and simple audio. A very good basis for an interesting game. Fun for a short while but becomes monotone after 10 or so shapes.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Nice idea. Maybe clean up a little your audio but for that short time nice :D

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Good twist on the endless 3D runner style game. I think I saw one slight glitch with the collision detection but it didn't happen a second time. A nice innovative game with a steadily increasing difficulty curve.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:11pm

ouch, right at the start i started to question its decision of movement and shapeshifting key combo, next to that the choppy moving left and right, it didn't feel good, and shifting from one form to another is fine for a short time and when it's slow, but you can imagine it being impossible when everything gets a bit faster, however it's a good spin on the good old runner games, it's a good concept, just not very well executed 3/10

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17pm

I wish there was more precision with the tracking, as well as more twist to the mechanic.

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Nice idea. I wish though shapes where something else than basic Unity default shapse :DD also the controls are bit rough. your character goes easily off-screen. sometimes player-character goes little bit up and can't hit objects anymore :(

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Very hard. Even harder than mine game. I wish to stop immideatelly adter I let go controls. Other then that - great game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:38pm

I loved it. The movement is a little fast and I think if you ramped up the speed over time it would make the game more challenging but overall great job!

ignacioq says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Good game, but I'd put some fxs for the game over. Anyway I like this kind of games!

https://kev9318.itch.io/gatling-defender

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Fun game! I like that the tutorial screen let you test out the controls, it was a nice touch.

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Clean visuals and sound. Would have been better if there were set amounts of movement similar to the game Frequency or amplitude. Some of the shapes that I missed felt like it was more due to loose controls than me not having the right shape in the right place. Game is still pretty good though. Ended up with a decent score.

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33pm

The looks really good but the sounds is not that great in my opinion.

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

The movement of the shape when moving right or left in my opinion is waaay to abrupt, so it's hard sometimes to match the obstacles. Also, using the mouse button for switching between shapes is very odd, for you have three shapes but can only change them consecutively...

The sound effects are fitting and not too annoying, which is nice - but the graphics on the other hand feel a little uninspired and without a clear motif.

locher2015 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:37pm

cool

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:44pm

The perspective on the side is a bit weird but good job!

Gyfis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Made it to 73... At the end it is way more harder than it seems at the first sight.

Unfortunately the game does not fit the window in the WebGL.

Overall the game has neat minimalistic graphic and easy, yet very challenging mechanics.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Quite a straight explanation of the theme. Simple fun action game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:55pm

I enjoyed it, but it's a bit repetitive.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Simple casual game with a smooth control. It could be interesting on mobile device. Funny. Thank you ++

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:44pm

I would enjoy this game even more if the difficulty was increasing constantly. I felt like I could go on forever and got bored after 40 points. Also, It felt hard to align the player with the objects.

bison says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04am

its a nice tiny game, when you realise that you can use the shadows as a help-mark to hit the incoming ones its way easier ;)

Jimjam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:57am

I had fun playing this, but it seemed unnecessary to me to use the mouse to switch shapes, as opposed to space or something. Cool!

josemorval says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Little addictive game :P Nice job!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Well made little game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1ovNEwCi_RI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]