Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Modified Ballistics

by Jeff0029 - Compo Entry

You wake up in a futuristic arena. The only means to defend yourself is to use boomerangs, bow and arrows & gun and bullets. But these are not ordinary ballistics, your projectiles can shape-shift on command. Making a straight bullet become a curving boomerang, or an arrow curving downwards. Good luck!

NOTE: In order to shoot you must be standing inside the white boxes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Innovation3.93
#204Overall3.53
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

ErikU says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:11am

A fun little puzzle game. Players beware, it's hard to get to the end. But by the end of the last level, you'll feel like you understand the mechanics well. Worth the effort! Well done.

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Really cool use of the theme. But it's kind of hard to aim for a turret when you can't see it. I really loved it though

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31am

Nice project, quite challenging maybe some improvement on the aim mechanics will help the whole

Geti says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:45am

Please do not include the debug pdb files as they bloat the download quite a lot http://i.imgur.com/cw0XfN4.png and consider naming your folder something other than build or ld35, as they're more often than not going to go into a single folder :)

gripes aside - i liked the mechanics - the movement in particular was very satisfying. Not sure of your motivation to hide the weapons each time though :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:52am

Really creative concept, but aiming blindly at the turrets is almost impossible; I think it would be nice to have the walls be transparent, so you can see how close you are and adjust accordingly, at least on the early levels.

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:03am

It's really really hard, but the idea is quite impressive! Very well done.

DcrDro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:58am

very cool!

Lokarunith says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Great concept!

PickledBrain says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:19am

Fun and interesting concept. I think outlining the target and the projectile with an xray shader would be helpful for player feedback.

erikkire says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:37pm

The player falls through the floor. Sometimes at game start but also ingame

madk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Echoing other comments: It's a cool idea, but aiming is extremely difficult.

General says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:19am

Made a video review for you: https://youtu.be/cov2SmkSm4E

danbolt says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:20am

Neat idea! As others have mentioned, aiming can be a little difficult, but the creativity is on point.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]