Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift the Shapes

by austinsheep - Compo Entry

As a wall is approaching, drag and drop shapes with the mouse to fit them through the hole of the wall.

As you progress, the speed of the approaching wall will increase.

What's your high score?

This HTML5 game is my first Ludum Dare submission!

@austin_sheep

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#331Overall3.36
#353Innovation3.28
#357Fun3.29
#407Audio2.82
#592Theme3.17
#803Graphics2.33
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15am

Very addictive! Great one, interesting to play
Take some time to understand, what control only by mouse
And audio is perfect, rly ;)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:21am

Enjoyed this one quite a bit, I thought the speed could be a little more consistent, especially as you approach the wall, but overall pretty fun. Nice work!

I'd love your thoughts on my game Titos Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

ayewyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31am

Nice game, could use a "speed up" button for after you have solved the puzzle so you don't have to wait.

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:35am

Fun, but kind of frustrating without a grid in the foreground to see how things line up. Also, shapes can be placed on top of each other without penalty? I could only get a highscore of 7 without cheating :/

f222 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:23am

Great game, very addictive but it's not easy to see where to place the blocs

ogre says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41am

It's a little hard to see the pattern through the shapes sometimes, but otherwise very well done. Understood exactly what to do the SECOND time I played it, which is great considering I did not read anything other than "drag and drop" before playing :)

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:14am

This was my first idea for the ludum, but i throw it. Nice to see it done, good job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:19am

Really adictive! Maybe a bit hard at the start, but great!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:19am

Nice game. Was a bit hard to be able to tell if it would line up but after a bit I got the hang of it

MatLab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Nice take on Tetris kind of game. Not enough juiciness for me thought.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:41pm

I'm really bad at it, but it didn't stop me from trying a lot. A good entry!

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Was super cool to try out!
You did a great job there. A small instruction inside of the game would have been great. But the concept and the gameplay was fun

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Great Game, we had almost the same idea. It's fun.

kik0729 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:42pm

This one really has potential to become a hit mobile game

May 2, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Very well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/CILyMGd9ZnE

Larzan says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Great idea!

knason says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:31pm

interesting idea, I like it, it's quite hard, but practise makes perfect :-) well done!

nyaki says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Nice twist to the original tetris-style.
I like that it is easy to learn, but hard to master.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]