Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Heroic Sex Bazooka

by tsjost - Compo Entry

You are stuck in some weird place with a lot of boulders and hamburgers! Can you figure out how to escape?

Move around with arrow keys or WASD (and whatever it is on crazy azerty layouts etc)! You should be able to figure the rest out by playing!

/!\ WARNING /!\
The hitboxes are absolutely insane (that's Crafty.js for you), so move carefully or you'll keep pushing boulders around unintentionally. I'm trying to figure out if this is fixable.

/!\ NOTICE /!\
I have made a post-LD version with tile-based movement!
Pushing boulders is much less annoying now!
Find it here: https://gamedev.ninja/ld35/ (or in the link list below)

---------------------------------------------

After spending 1½ days on the game and absolutely sure I would be able to turn it into a puzzle game somehow, I realised that I had forgotten any puzzle elements in the game design. With a few hours left I made the boulders pushable, and created doors that are toggleable by the buttons -- which were previously used to simply blow up the static boulders.

Please do try out the amazing level editor (scroll down in the embedded frame or on the Web link for instructions) which took most of the time and code to make! You can save the level and share its unique ID here, so other people can play your levels!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Humor3.55
#307Audio3.05
#322Overall3.37
#357Fun3.29
#504Mood2.88
#627Graphics2.71
#649Theme3.07
#767Innovation2.59
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:03am

Hmm, sadly I couldn't connect to either the embeded or Web builds.
Sure that the URL is https://gamedev.ninja/ld35/?

tsjost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:57am

Oh shoot, my web server had shat itself, sorry! It's back up now!

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:00am

Really fun sounds =)

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26am

The game operates on a grid system, but the player moves fluidly. With the player being the same size as the grid, this means that it's difficult to squeeze into tight corridors, which lead to a lot of frustration, given how often they're used. Either make the player a lot smaller or lock their movement to the grid.

I think the game would have also benefited from making the burgers wear off with movement rather than with time. It makes more sense thematically, and it'd allow for tighter, more intellectually challenging puzzles, rather than the current battle with the game's movement system not to push the rock too far or not far enough before the timer runs out.

The level editor is a nice touch but with the mechanics as they are the platform's not really suited for a lot of good levels.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31am

I won. But it wasn't easy, dagnabbit!

I know you changed the mechanics at the last minute, but if you work on this some more I think locking player movement to a grid would make it a lot less frustrating. The stressful Sokoban idea is decent but I feel it needs crisp controls.

Cool idea for level-sharing!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:08pm

@tsjost: Nice, glad you got it back up and glad I double checked.

Agree with other comments about movement (pushing things around by mistake more than I felt comfy with) and burger (time) but somehow I think both are linked together.

If burgers were on move based, then I'd have time to properly care about movement, and not push things around by mistake.

As it is now, frustration over these kinda bulldozed the fun from the puzzles.

tsjost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! Making the movement grid based makes sense, and having the burgers be movement-limited instead of time-limited is a great idea!

I'll try these things out and make a post-LD version!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Funny take on the theme! Gameplay was clever and the levels were well designed. Very cool that you made a level editor aswell. As you mentioned the collisions were kind of wonky, but I enjoyed it anyways!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Not bad, … the om nom song got very annoying after a couple of times. Would prefer a visual timer for the duration of my fatness, and maybe just a single nom sounds when eating the burger?
Other than that, a simple, somewhat challenging puzzle / quick movement game. Sometimes the boulder pushing felt too sensitive.

csimpsonweb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

amusing little game

djdduty says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Accidentally colliding with boulders and thus accidentally moving them is pretty frustrating, along with trying to go into 1 tile wide corridors. but other than that an neat little puzzle game, love the sounds!

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:09pm

As others have said, I think if you locked the player to a grid like the boulders, that would make the game a lot easier to get used to.

redwizard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Nice and fun game. Congratulations.

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Nice level design. Actually good puzzle elements, and you need to actually think through the logic before passing the levels.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Those hitboxes...I couldn't complete level 9. I knew what to do, but you have EXACTLY enough time for the first and last burgers, and as long as I was getting hung up like that patience was going out the window fast. However, it's a cool idea which seems like it has room for expansion. Good on you for including a level editor.

Oh, I relaize having the exact length is important to gameplay but I'm really sick of that burger sound now.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39am

I like the game, but It's not sexy at all... xD
Great job, Om nom nom nom.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15am

Gonna agree with previous commenters: lock the player into the grid. And the chat shows you're already working on the post-LD version, so whatever.

Also, I encountered a weird bug in level 10 that caused the hamburger song to play infinitely.

Speaking of level 10, the first burger doesn't really have a point in level 10, does it? You can just start the stone at the second burger and do the level that way.

It was fun enough for a little bit, but when the puzzles started to depend more on timing than logical thinking the awkward movement system that everyone's complaining about really got in the way.

Funny enough, I loved the saying-things-into-a-mic audio style. Gotta be the laziest way to do it, really, but it was funny. I guess I wouldn't think it's so funny if it were more common, but whatever.

Connection to the theme seems a bit weak, but when I stop and think about it I guess "thin guy to fat guy" fits well enough.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47am

Yay, rewarding levels. I like the sfx, especially the yay. As others have said the eating hamburger sfx was maybe a little too long since it gets played a lot.

The post compo movement is much better to control, however it doesn't look as good as compo. Not sure how to fix that - maybe a little smear or super fast lerping?

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51am

Pack it in, people. This one wins the jam. It's so adorably stupid.

arzi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

I really like the sounds too, and the game is pretty good also. Also bonus for including a level editor!

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Better than Snakoban!

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:35am

I think it's been said plenty already but the collisions could be a bit better. It was a lot of restarting the level because of accidentally pushed boulders or swallowed burgers. Still, fun puzzler.

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:20am

I've managed to finish to game (in the post-LD version) so it's a lot of fun when fixed.

The idea that you can slim down after a song ends is really funny.

And I really like the audio on this game. nom nom nom nom...

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Really great try hard game ! Easy to pick up hard to master !!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:32pm

This game has many possibilities. Well done!. It is sometimes difficult to control the player with the pressure of time though.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Love it. Tiny burger man - cute, simple and fun. Doesn't work in Safari, but Chrome works a treat

Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Nice graphics and audio, although it appears to cut out quite often until I reset the level. Level 9 is so hard even in the grid movement version :(

Yumeito says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Nice Game:)

derr says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Fun and addictive puzzle game. Good job on the level design, that's a ton of content for a comp entry!

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Amazing that you managed to include a level editor!! The game itself is a great, but idea is maybe too basic. But for execution you'll get full points from me.

csanyk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:49am

Tricky puzzles. I've played a few games like this before, so kinda knew what to expect, but I think you introduced the puzzle elements in a way that allows the player to figure things out pretty well. The limited time to move the boulders while beefed up from the hamburger made it especially challenging.

Most games of this type just let you move the rocks, but not pull them, so if you push it against a wall that you can't pull it away from, you get stuck. Here, you can get stuck that way, or by running out of hamburger time. I don't know that that extra challenge was needed, but it did make things different.

Tegu says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Omnomnomnomnomnom, nom no no nom nom nom.

Great sounds! Occasionally, a sound got in loop. The hitboxes are insane, indeed. Quick movement is very risky yet needed to pass the levels. I like how the fat-shape time equals the nomnom, makes it possible to predict how much time is left. The doors seem to move you when they close if you're not centered enough, so you lose precious time because you have to move a more. The level editor is really cool and works well. I'm not quite sure how to play the levels using the ID, though. Here's some useless test: 7049ae9b-d470-4a5e-9c90-13c3a8dcd508 (sorry)

Great idea and ther were quite a few levels as well! Challeging as well.

May 5, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Really solid puzzle game you have here. That final level was a real mind job, but I finally got it after an embarrassing number of replays.

flummox3d says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:05am

Ha-ha, I really the loved the sound effects. :) Nice work! :)

Miziziziz says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Sold game, props for including a level editor.
I think the hitbox problem could be fixed by making movement grid fixed, that's normally how 'push the rock' type games handle it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]