Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Virgin Blood

by bogdan.tana - Compo Entry

A stealth game where you shapeshift into a vampire bat in order to sneak around.

Count Suckula is old and requires the blood of a fair maiden to regain his strength again.
Although such a lass exists within the gardens of a famous castle, the Count is too weak to fly directly to her, so he proceeds to pass the grassy maze by foot.
Dangers block the path, but the Count is restless.
He must have his blood!


Tip: By feeding on the guards, the count is able to replenish his energy and sneak around undetected in short bursts, in the shape of a vampire bat.

Controls:
* Arrow Keys / WASD - move
* SPACE - shapeshift into bat, guards won't notice you (travelling as a bat costs energy)
* E - interact with objects around, the Count might have something to comment on
* F - feed on guards when you're behind their back (restore energy for bat form)

Good luck and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#99Humor3.34
#101Graphics3.92
#237Mood3.27
#281Overall3.42
#340Fun3.31
#428Theme3.42
#495Innovation3.06

Comments

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13am

Seems there's a problem with the WebGL build. Will fix ASAP.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:11am

Removed shadows from WebGL build because they seem to cause some odd behaviour.

Some glitches still present, will update with a post-jam version soon!

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52am

Fun game. Liked the graphics and the level design.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04am

Interesting puzzle game with the theme squeezed in as a twist. Had a couple weird issue where feeding caused me to be detected but otherwise, nice one.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03pm

@mutonizer: Regarding the bug... strange. collider is separated from actual geometry. I am unable to reproduce it. Regarding the theme, I appreciate the honest feedback. It's not a 'deep' take on the theme, indeed. But I do consider it a proper mechanic.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

@Autodevelop: Thanks! :)

apalade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Shout out to Transylvania! :)

Good take on the theme and I like the pixel art. It felt a little strange that it mixes real time play with a turn-based mechanic (bat form lasts for X tiles, right?) but I think that actually makes it interesting.

Cool little puzzle game. Congrats!

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32pm

@apalade: Thanks! :D

Regarding the turn-based + real-time combination, I guess what I wanted to do is to have that kind of moment when you say: "This is the plan, I just have to wait for the right moment. Ready, set, go!". Happy you enjoyed it!

nxmode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25am

This game looks like a hit to me ;)

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:42am

Great little stealth turn-based, realtime mix. Nice graphics too. Too bad there were no sounds, but it was still an enjoyable experience.

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Neat idea, the game was fun and an interesting combination of puzzle and stealth elements, really enjoyed it nice work.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Well this sure feels uplifting :D Thank you all for your feedback! SFX and music will soon arrive in a postjam version of the game ^_^

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:54am

Fun sneaking about! :-)

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:30am

Nice Game! I like the graphics!

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Great game! I really enjoyed the gameplay, the jokes and graphics! Keep it up!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:15pm

With sounds the game will be awesome for only 48 hours. Great job! :D

sergicollado says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Cool game!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Nice, reminds me Metal Gear Solid but without boxes.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Seems like Unity WebGL builds still don't work in Firefox.. =/
Played in Chrome though.

The game could definitely stand to be faster. It's especially frustrating when you're detected and you want to replay the successful part of your playthrough quickly.

Once I got detected by a guard who had his back turned to me, and was on the other side of the map. I'm not sure what the rules are exactly (infinite line of sight? Why did the guard turn around when they were always walking in circles previously?).

There also seems to be an animation bug, where feeding will not play the actual animation until several seconds afterwards.

Some sound would make it a lot cooler, too.

Anyway, with all that said, it's a really nice idea which is just lacking some polish. The graphics and animations are great, the levels are well designed, and I really like the interaction details and how each level has a name, it really gives you a sense of place.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Thank you all for the awesome feedback! ^_^

@Steve The guards always see you when you are in their 'cone of sight' which is very wide - 180 degrees. This means the guard will spot you whenever you're not even at least a bit behind them, or when you're missing cover. It's a bit punishing, I know. It was a choice, so that I would be able to design the levels faster.
Also, the guard turns to you automatically when you're detected (for an enhanced visual effect). Thanks for the feedback! :D

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Cute, could use a bit more leeway with bat-energy and guard fov. Nicely done.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:29am

Nice take on the theme, Isometric pixel art was awesome. Love the puzzler concept.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:51am

80 is maximum points to get Innovation: 6/10 Fun: 8/10
Theme: 6/10
Graphics: 6/10
Audio: 0/10
Humor: 1/10
Mood: 1/10
Coolness: 7/10
Overall: 35/80
Good Game

CheesyRamen says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:52pm

It took a while to get used to the controls, but I nevertheless enjoyed sneaking around! Also the art works quite well :)

PixelStuff says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Great game :)
hide and seek is nice :D but control didn't fit for azerty keyboard

Alphish says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:12pm

So... I take that she wasn't a virgin after all? ^^'

Pretty decent mix between a puzzle and a stealth game, but I've found controls really sloppy, often ending up walking a tile further than I intended to or having the vampire feed himself with no particular input from me. The graphics are solid, but not outstanding.

Overall a decent entry, but somewhat rough round the edges; could use some tweaking (especially movement).

bogdan.tana says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:08pm

@PixelStuff You can also use arrows. Funny thing about WASD and AZERTY mismatch, it hasn't occurred to me until now :))

@Alphish Yup... Difficult times for the Count.

Regarding the control, tile-based keyboard movement feels pretty odd. Definitely learned my lesson there :P Guess I was so caught up in what I was doing that I completely ignored all the other (far better) alternatives. If I'd have done it again, probably it would have been tile-based point-and-click.

siryakko says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Love the graphics and the mechanics, really enjoyed the game

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Clever game and nice concept! :)
yet it was a bit buggy sometimes, for example when eating the guards, or trying to turn

adsilcott says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:42pm

I love the graphics, and the sneak gameplay with transformations is fun!

DesignerNap says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Nice polished entry but no audio? that could have really helped it become even more!

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:02pm

The concept is really nice! It's fun, challenging and cleverly done! :)

The voxel graphics always have some charm to me, so I really liked how you dealt with them. :) Controls work nicely too, though only sometimes, I thought they were a bit slow/hard.

Missing some sounds, but the game's pretty solid. :) Keep going! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]