Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

3D platformer thing

by vapgames - Jam Entry

Controls with GAMEPAD (recommended):
Left Stick - move
X - shoot
A - jump
Right Stick - camera

Keyboard (not recommended, no mouse support yet):
WASD - move
Space - jump
Right Ctrl - shoot


Fight the army of hell in 3D or something.

Ok, it's just a tech demo at this point. No shapeshifting, just GUNKOUR and demons.

I've used a bunch of my 2d libs - sprite system, explosions system, grass and hair tech (converted from 2d to 3d).

Most of the time was spent making character controller. Also i'm really slow at texturing things. First time working with 3d after many years of 2d :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Graphics(Jam)4.14
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#546Overall(Jam)3.24
#657Mood(Jam)2.95
#1062Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

i love the animation of the hero!
but it needs a tutorial and stuff. and shape shift.

vapgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33am

11Schotter, thanks, added controls into description for now. Didn't have time left for gameplay or shapeshifting.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24am

A fun little game. I enjoyed the bouncy hair and movement and loved the graphics in this one.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51am

Man, this game is really pretty and what's there feels great. If you do continue this, make sure to make it so you can aim in a different direction than the one you're running in, makes it really hard to avoid enemy fire otherwise.

Farelle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:19am

It's hell of rewarding feeling to shoot down those little guys :P and I love that hair wobble ^^

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:32am

I love this game, you must finish this project for integrating the shape shift !!

tanis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

I see potential there :)
The animations are damn nice!

It could use some tweaks on the camera as sometimes your hero becomes occluded by the level.

Controls with the keyboard are kind of hard as it's painful to aim at the enemies. I haven't tried with a gamepad though.

You should definitely expand this.. too bad it doesn't fit the theme.. :(

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Wow...sweet visuals!

Animations, color fades on the textures, sleek looking.

Intuitive controls and feels great to play.

Not on par with the theme but whatever, it's a great entry.

Crosstales says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Good graphics and funny gameplay!
I like :-)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Really nice animations and cute characters! I love how bouncy everything was! You have something really promising here!

LostViking says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:51pm

It's a great start for a fun game. The animations are incredible and I love the character designs!

whilefun says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Very solid prototype! It was fun and felt cool running around, jumping, and shooting green goo at the little baddies. The hair/grass/etc movement looked great.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:37pm

The animations are beautiful

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]