Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Enslaving Davement - seagaia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the newgrounds link. Press UP next to beds and doors to go to the next level! Collect pills to not die. musical Notes are optional.

TIMELAPSE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAZlTgyMqYQ&feature=youtu.be



Take the role as Duke (or you???). You're a super fan of Davement, the famous '90s rock band! You've traveled back in time to 1990, but are now stuck and alone! Help Duke fight his anxiety disorder through many meds! Also help duke (OR YOURSELF?!??) take over Davement and become the new frontman, by writing their album ahead of time and beating up the members (via respectively collecting body-sized notes, and breaking into their houses!)


Hi, I'm Sean (seagaia) - this is my first Ludum Dare Entry, and actually my first game I've ever come sort of close to completing. For more, read the journal! All source is at my github. You can download the standalone .swfs from there - included are the .ptcop (pxtone notation files) for the songs if you're interested at all (though these, of course, are quite rushed :) ).

Enjoy!

View seagaia's journal. | View all entries by seagaia

Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Audio3.44
#64Humor3.06
#182Community2.88
#230Overall2.93
#317Fun2.43
#322Graphics2.68
#324Innovation2.50
#504Theme2.20
#506Mood1.87

Comments

Mr. Wonko says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:12pm

The time pressure and shaking screen made it a little too hard for my liking, but it's a solid little game.

dcfedor says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 3:14am

Haha, love the story. I don't know if it made sense, but it made me grin. Well-behaved controls, challenging but not impossible, endearing low-fi graphics. My only complaint was the Q, Y, X, and P keys you mapped were far enough apart that I was constantly shifting my hand positions at the end of each level. I would tighten up the keys into a smaller cluster in the future. But good work otherwise!

kato9 says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:59pm

Pretty cool. I liked the music and the art was pretty good, was well as all the shaking and particle effects. I admit I couldn't beat the first level though - is it actually possible to get to the top without death by anxiety?

seagaia says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:21pm

@kato9: Yeah, all the levels should be possible to beat completely. I'll admit the game is a bit difficult and takes a bit to get used to, as some have pointed out - if I were to expand on this idea I'd have a tutorial or something so people knew the elements better (in contrast to the rambling instructions I give in the beginning). That or lighten up on the time constraints.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 8:25am

I dig the music... but the anxiety thing happens way too quick to be able to explore and get the notes. AND LOL AT THE CRAZY ASS STORYLINE!

nuria says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 6:44pm

cool music, game made not much sense. You shouldn't use a different key for every action. It was really annoying to have to press Y after dying to restart because it makes you reposition your hands on the keyboard every time. Put more time into planning, so things turn out better next time, congrats on finishing!

Make A Game says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 1:40pm

I agree with SonnyBone but the game seems very solid despite that.
Good job! Hope you keep participating in the upcoming challenges :P!

caranha says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 4:49am

That was a very solid game for the time limit. The timer (and time rechargers) could certainly be a bit more spaced away.

The Jahn says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 2:22am

While there's a little too much going on graphically this is a very complete game. My only advice would be to find an art style you like and stick with it until the end. Everything else is damn near perfect.

Solid mechanics and level design, oddly suiting music and sounds. The effects actually make me feel anxious and relieved at appropriate times without sacrificing the fun of the game as a whole.

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 4:21am

cool but as with most couldnt get past level 1 :D

Veralos says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 4:57am

I hate this game so much.

Embracing my completionist side, I decided to collect every note in the game. I struggled against strict time limits and difficult jumps, avoiding the easy path that could be taken by ignoring notes. By the end I was yelling at my computer. After I finally finished I was rewarded with this: "You got 20/80 notes" FUUUUUUU...

Seriously though, this is a neat game. Both the graphics and audio are nice, especially the anxiety effects. The game is extremely challenging, but still fun, though I think the difficulty could be toned down a bit. And that ending notes glitch should be fixed.

seagaia says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 7:30am

x____x yeah I thought I uploaded a ending-fixed version a few weeks ago. Guess not. Updated it to add correctly and show the ending, which (IMO) isn't worth playing again for unless you're sadistic! (REally, it's not!!)

I'm working on a full version of the game. Rehaul some stuff - solidify the graphics style to be consistently crappy :P, fix the jumping glitch (betcha wished yall found that out earlier! You don't have to be on the ground to jump..ha!). Remapping keys. And of course expanding stages, making the story not confusing as hell, etc.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:00am

Difficulty in platformers needs to be handled in well-thought out ways (see VVVVVV, IWBTG), and I think that was your main weakness here. Ignoring that, though, the graphics look pretty decent for an LD entry, and that background chip track is lovely.

NeiloGD says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:07am

Time limit on the anxiety is a bit harsh, one slight mistake and it's back to the start :( Still though, good little game :)

Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:09am

The sound/music is quite charming!

I don't really like the anxiety mechanic. If I make any mistakes during the platforming, I'm doomed to fail because of the time limit, so I just wait for the clock to run down. Then I have to do the whole level again because I missed one stupid jump. It's too frustrating.

The plot and theme of the game wasn't really funny to me, it was just... weird. So I would call that a miss.

Still, the platforming mechanics were pretty solid and the graphics weren't terrible, so overall a decent entry. Good job!

Tritax says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:18pm

I think the timing of the anxiety bar was tuned just a little bit too tight. I felt like I was playing a game about perfect platformering (i.e. Meat Boy) but with controls that sometimes punished me for no reason. A fun game, but I think it could benefit from tighter controls and a slightly more forgiving timer.

wbobeirne says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Whacky plot, cute game. The platforming was super stiff though, and with the screen shaking, it just got too frustrating for me to finish. Very nice music!

zazery says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 7:26am

What a crazy storyline. At first I thought by staying still or hiding in small areas I could recover but I quickly realized the only way was to take the pills.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]