About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 10 hours, 51 minutes, 40 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 11 hours, 3 minutes, 40 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 11 hours, 51 minutes, 40 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Lonely Star - Dietrich Epp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The goal of each level is to be alone.

    The Windows version requires Vista, I think, the graphics will not load on Windows XP. The Mac version is universal PowerPC / Intel and requires OS X 10.5. A Linux version can be built from source, instructions are included (requires GtkGLExt and some other things).

    I used C++ for the engine. Graphics were made with Crayola markers, a pen, and The GIMP.

    View Dietrich Epp's journal. | View all entries by Dietrich Epp

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #61Innovation3.42
    #77Graphics3.63
    #100Overall3.29
    #108Humor2.68
    #155Theme3.25
    #236Fun2.63
    #314Mood2.41
    #404Community2.33
    #557Audio1.13

    Comments

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:55pm

    Not very fun but has nice characters and great background graphics. Stating the objective would've been nice, it took me a few tries to figure you have to make the other guy suicide.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:08am

    Link is dead.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:49am

    @SonnyBone: Hm, must have been temporary. The new link works and the old link still works too.

    dr_soda says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:30am

    This game seems somewhat similar to mine, but with about 5x the budget for graphics, and 1 additional item. I really like this!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:33am

    OH WOW. I'm glad I came back to this. This is really fun to play! Good idea and your interpretation of the theme is brilliant!

    summaky says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 7:10pm

    I don't have GtkGLExt installed on my computer and I don't have access to a Windows box right now. I'll try it later when I can find one :-)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:27pm

    Very funny, but sooo frustrating. Definitely innovative, also the graphics are brilliant. :D

    mnem says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 12:32am

    Great entry - love making the blue dude chase the star to their death. Probably says a lot about me ;) Lovely artwork too, with nice animation.

    Benjamin says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    the little emotes in bubble are nice :) Make me laugh to see blue man trying to reach my platform to get the star.

    h.attila says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 2:02am

    I really liked the graphics and animations. Some kind of in-game instructions wouldn't hurt, at first I had no idea I could throw the star... :)
    Some sound effects would've added a lot to the game.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 6:14am

    I'd like to mention that I recently beat level 4 for the first time since I changed the AI. It involves cursing at the flaky line-of-sight algorithm (why can't he see me? I'm standing right next to him!) and knowing exactly when he's programmed to jump (X distance less than certain value, Y distance greater than certain value). The simpler AI I had earlier was easier to work with (no line-of-sight check, always jumps if star is at higher elevation), and I'm cursing myself for making it more "sophisticated".

    Stargoat says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 2:52am

    Concept is /hilarious/, I love the graphics, and a really nice take on the theme.

    Some stages are a bit frustrating.

    Otherwise nice job!

    Raptor85 says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 4:15am

    compiled sucessfully, but neither a native linux build nor the .exe under wine would load the graphics, so could not test.

    NeiloGD says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 6:37am

    Great use of the theme, but very frustrating game (I had a lot of trouble just getting to level 2). Style is fantastic, I have quite the soft spot for hand drawn graphics :)

    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:44am

    This is pretty cool! As far as I know, this is a pretty unique and innovative game - luring an enemy to his/her death with a shiny object. :) I like it.

    It's not actually all that fun, unfortunately. It can be really frustrating to get the AI to do what you want, and it feels a little too frantic. The gameplay and level design probably just needs some more refinement.

    The graphics are pretty cool, I love the hand-drawn look of the background and clouds. The stick figure guys look very natural and fun when they move. I wish the actual tiles that the levels are made out of had the same art style as the background.

    No sound :(

    Overall, good job!

    faijdherbe says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 10:50am

    Great graphics, cool idea, very difficult to reach next level, Great game!

    Odra says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 11:17am

    Very nice game! I thought it was a little difficult to murder the blue guy on later levels, because he isnt very good at following you on the platforms. But overall its great!

    kosinus says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    This is a great gameplay idea! And it looks awesome to boot.

    It's rather difficult, though I'm having a hard time trying to lay my finger on why. Maybe it's simply a bit too fast?

    One thing I couldn't quite make out was whether I was supposed to be alone *with* the star, or if the star simply doesn't matter. On some early levels, I can make the enemy drop with the star, and succeed. On others, notably where the fall is longer, I fail if I do the same. (And I really have to avoid him from grabbing my star when I lean over the edge.)

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:26am

    @Raptor85: The Linux build has to be placed in the same directory as 'Game.exe' and 'Game.app'. Linux was actually my primary development environment, but unfortunately it's difficult to package games well.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]