Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

And then, alone at Epsilon-1

by eld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small sci-fi adventure game with some puzzle elements to it and a story crammed in.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
Graphics4.58
#23Theme3.89
#25Overall3.69
#36Community3.60
#41Mood3.58
#103Fun3.09
#142Innovation3.07
#264Humor2.00
#561Audio1.11

Comments

Yezu says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:50am

Only screenshots?

eld says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:40am

Sorry, the url was wrong.

Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:34am

Cool game! I like how well-rounded and "complete" it is :-).

The hackking-minigame is fun, but it quickly becomes a random trial+error, especially after the 2-stage-panels. The mouse-cursor was also problematic, as it always leaves the window. Put "Screen.lockCursor = true" in the Start() of any object, that should fix it. (also, the pillar at the kitten-crates is missing a collider)

iforce2d says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:57am

ok, I'm a dummy. How do you do hack the terminals? I got a couple open somehow by random, but can't get any of the triple set open.

iforce2d says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:06pm

ok, I think I've got it. It was just how I expected but it seems the timing of my notebooks touchpad is a little slow or something. Are you using a mouse-up event to catch the time the dot is inside the bar perhaps?

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:10pm

The aesthetics are beautiful. Like Matthias said... the mouse cursor gets lost outside of the game and makes all of your other inputs useless. The camera gets stuck outside of the space station if you get too close to the ceiling, and the dang thing is just plain hard to control. Maybe I suck at it. I REALLY dig how this looks, and it has a great mood. Makes me want to try Unity!

eld says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:18pm

Thanks guys!

I really should've put this through testing more, especially with the balance of the hacking-minigames, they are a bit everywhere.

Also, I didn't know of that Screen.lockCursor thing, I wonder if that would count as a bug fix if I put it in?

Yezu says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:16pm

The game looks amazing, but unfortunately it's Unity so I won't be able to play :/

eld says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:42pm

Yezu, the downsides with unity on linux :/

Anyhow, updated with a simple pillar collision-fix and proper mouse-locking, so the game should be more playable now.

eld says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:18pm

"ok, I think I've got it. It was just how I expected but it seems the timing of my notebooks touchpad is a little slow or something. Are you using a mouse-up event to catch the time the dot is inside the bar perhaps?"

Oh that was it, I thought it was a latency issue that I couldn't get too, doh!

Robotic says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:41pm

Impressive game, definitely the most good-looking I've seen. Too bad there is no sound at all, I think you didn't particularly needed music since it's in space, but having a "pshhh" sound when a door opens (like in star trek) would have been nice (for example), or hear the breathing, or hearing beeps during hacking minigames. But great otherwise, I hope you get a lot of stars.

saint11 says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:36am

I love the aesthetics, amazing graphics and very simple, moody and well-resolved. The unlock mini-game is very good too! :) Congratulations, great game! (my favorite, so far)

dr_soda says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 1:23am

That's an inventive use of GUI scripting you've got going on with your terminal hacking mechanic (or rather, I'm assuming it's an OnGUI script based on its appearance).

I had a good feeling about this one based on the models and textures, and that if you could just come up with a good solid mechanic that you'd do well. It's pretty amazing what you can do with Unity just scratching the surface, and well-crafted art really helps with that.

aus_mike says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:03am

Will you expand on this? add to it.. MORE!!!!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:09am

Some ambient sound effects could've bumped the mood to 5 stars.

increpare says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 8:29pm

enjoyed this - hacking panels could be hard to read over light scenery, though.

looked reasonably pretty :)

also : fix the camera!

iansnyder says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:20am

Great job! Really amazing, I just wish there were some music and sounds to round it out :)

Wiering says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:10am

Nice game! But it's very hard to click on things if your head is always behind the mouse cursor. Also the camera keeps going through walls, ceilings.

DiThi says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:16am

It's very immersive despite its simplicity. Textures are retrogreat.

Shigor says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:17am

Very good, it just needs some background audio (not even music, but just some random hums, breathing in the suit etc).

This, better camera that wouldn't go occasionally outside the station and better readable hacking panels and it would be perfect...

eld says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:29pm

Great feedback!, I would love to hear more things that people would want from a possible updated version, in terms of puzzles and balance, or other things.

volando says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:21am

I liked this one a lot.

I would set the gravity not that aggressive. It is reaching irresponsiveness than a a game simulation movement.

The camera also, I might do a great impact on it.

Feedback- Clearer, maybe the letters are too small? too general to notice them easily? And the items, I would separate them visually from backgrounds, so they look as hints for interactiveness... but overall, really cool, and obviously needs polishing.

Dec 22, 2011 @ 7:08am

Excellent foundation for future expanded projects. Minor camera issues and raycasts obscured by the player avatar, would probably want to set the player to the "IgnoreRaycast" layer.

Love the texturing, fantastic.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:22pm

Great (and cleverly reusable) environment art! The minigame is slick but often hard to see and luck-based (sometimes it even starts in a state where it's impossible to win). Astronaut inertia is realistic but irritating. Story is simple but engaging - whole thing was thoroughly enjoyable. Good work!

Cosr says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:07am

Very good game.

I only read the last data log thing, that was lying around. I noticed them early, but didn't actually think I could intereact with them because I didn't get close enough to them at first, or something. Is the interaction range on them shorter than on hte hacking panels?

Going up and down vertical shafts was a little awkward. I think it would have been better if you had went full out zero gravity, so that there was no real up and down, and the game's up/down was always orientated to the player (so you could end up upside down, or sideways and do 360s, etc). That would make guiding yourself into a vertical hall easier.

Ghostik says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 10:07am

Great game! That "puzzles" sometimes starts in position where you can`t win it and the camera leaves the spaceship when you are too close to wall. But that`s just little bugs that can be fixed ;)

Really great game ... and + for frozen kittens :D :D :D

Make A Game says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Pretty cool. My problem with the hacking minigame wasn't its randomness, it should have used a better color that contrasted with the whole environment. You should at least used a looping atmospheric music.

Jigxor says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 1:11am

That was AMAZING! It's my favourite game of the competition! I love the graphical style and the mood. It was super fun! The locking puzzle is an awesome mechanic.

*Spoiler*
It took me a little while to find the first roof hole, I got stuck at that point, but besides that it was really intuitive and fun.

Great game! Well done!

MurrayL says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 6:02pm

I *loved* the graphics, the Asimov-like storyline and the atmosphere; the only thing missing to me was atmospheric audio, which would've sealed the deal.
I've wanted to do something like this myself for a while, and it's great to see it executed so well. I hope you continue to develop it!

Jan 10, 2012 @ 4:43am

The controls were pretty fiddly, but the mood, concept and environment art were really impressive, especially given the time frame.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]