Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Never Alone Hotline - Pierrec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Feel depressed ?
Lonely ?
Call Never Alone Hotline and enjoy our friendly hostesses.

This game is a kind of Visual Novel. One ending, many path.

Made with :
Adventure Game Studio
GraphicsGale Free Edition
Audacity
Andre Michelle's Pulsate (http://lab.andre-michelle.com/pulsate)

(I just wanted to say that I'm french, and my english isn't very good. sorry for that).

Timelapse: http://www.dailymotion.com/Oujevipo#videoId=xn37yp and http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xn381p_never-alone-hotline-timelapse-2-2_videogames

View Pierrec's journal. | View all entries by Pierrec

Ratings

Coolness100%
Theme4.44
#4Humor4.00
#12Overall3.87
#17Mood3.84
#43Community3.52
#65Innovation3.38
#77Fun3.18
#112Audio3.05
#189Graphics3.09

Comments

Oxydam says ...
Dec 18, 2011 @ 10:31pm

Just a word : excellent !

LeafThief says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:26am

It was a good read. Again nice meta aspects in there. Fitting the theme nicely!

Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:07am

I liked it!
Cute story, cute characters.
I would have liked it more if it were less silly and had more of a plot.
Still, very charming!

Meedoc says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:47am

I just like it. It was a really good interactive experience. Nice work!

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:45am

This game is strong.
There are sad moments, fun moments, cute moments...
Lot of emotions. Excellent work!

Matt Rix says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:58pm

Great game. I think the writing is actually quite good, especially for a non-native speaker. Using pulsate to make the music was brilliant, it fits the game perfectly.

iforce2d says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:05pm

A few real LOLs here, nice work!

CplMustard says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:38pm

I really liked this one, it hit the theme perfectly, had a great mood and was pretty well written despite translation errors. Definitley recommended.

lesterpig says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:27pm

"It was a kitten" ... Ahahahahah xD

Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:37pm

Lovely game and nice take on "alone". The cat was great.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:52pm

Wow! I couldn't hope so many people would like this game! I'm very happy. About the translations errors, could you tell me where are the mistakes, so I can correct them for a new version ?

Jilius says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:16am

Being a fan of point and click and visual novels, i loved this game.
Not only was it longer than i expected (which is good), it also dealt with serious problems and non serious problems.
Plus, seeing as i have social phobia, the topic really interested me till the end. Would read again/more :D

CezarisLT says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:47pm

I have to say that I hate point and click and reading text, but this game got me addicted to the end. great job. Giraffe ending joke got me good.

diux says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:45pm

I really reallly really liked your graphic novel. Amazing work here.

bostelk says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:51am

great job, it's really touching. don't be sorry for your english I though it was fine. I know my french isn't nearly as good. you should be proud.

danbolt says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:30pm

Fun stuff! The ending confused me a little, but otherwise it was fun to play. I didn't see the kitten in the end!

Gib says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:55pm

Wonderful work. You got some talent to hook people on your stories :)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:01pm

Thanks to all. @Danbolt : you don't have to see the kitten, you just hear it ^^

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 11:30am

I remember trying to make a game with Adventure Game Studio years ago... I spent 3 weeks on a single dialogue tree and decided to just stop. lol
This was a refreshing break from the other entries! Thanks!

Zemmi says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 9:32pm

Nice, I liked this one. Got quite a few laughs out of being an ass to everyone, but maybe I'm just a terrible person.

Thanks for your review of my game by the way, "Spider-Man-supersonic-exhibitionist-that-feels-the-pee" (if Google translate was accurate) is now my favourite way to describe the character xD

http://geekadelphia.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/hellboy_legos.jpg <--- Also found some Hellboy Lego men, I wish they had full sets

kkyla789 says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 11:03pm

I love this game! Me and my sister were pretending to be the callers. It was so fun! We did it twice first, we were nice, then we were total dicks. It was awesome. Overall this had got to be my favorite game! You deserve to win!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 10:30pm

@Zemmi : the right translation would be "supersonic-exhibitionist-spider-man-that-smells-pee" but the other one is okay ^^

@Kkyla and his/her sister : I'm not sure I really deserve to win cause plenty other games are great and this is only my second Ludum Dare, it would be unfair ^^ But thanks a lot.

agersant says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 4:32am

Very original entry. I loved your take on the theme ; good job.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 12:31pm

This is so VERY awesome!

emveyh says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 12:55pm

Really excellent work! Keep it up :)

neilogd says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 6:34am

Is there a way to run this windowed? It's not playing friendly with VirtualBox :(

neilogd says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 6:35am

Oh nevermind, found it :P

neilogd says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 6:43am

Really nice little game, simple, fun, and amusing :)

jeffz says ...
Jan 2, 2012 @ 8:46am

fantastique!

Ghostik says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 1:29pm

So simple, so funny and amusing ;)

You have big + for theme, humor and kitten :D
Great game!

caranha says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Wonderful little game. I had to play over and over again because I wanted to see all the little variations in the dialogues. I don't have much to say, it was pretty great all around!

I will certainly try your hot chocolate tip for the next LD. Seems to have worked well for you! Also thanks for rating so many games.

StarLight says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Awesome, srsly

Dietrich Epp says ...
Jan 5, 2012 @ 11:31am

Okay, I got to sing Eleanor Rigby to a guy who just took cyanide pills and called the Never Alone hotline. That's a first.

binary_girl says ...
Jan 5, 2012 @ 1:43pm

good stuff ..original :) i couldnt fingure out how to exit tho..had to end task ;p

ladron says ...
Jan 5, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Really nice, minimalist style. Good job!

dock says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:07am

Oh no, this doesn't work on my machine! :( I'm on 64-bit Windows 7, and the mouse control doesn't work in full screen. In fact, it might just lock up because it doesn't exit properly. I tried windowed mode too and it locks up again.

Pierrec says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:23am

@binary_girl : I know...that weird. There is an exit function (echap) but this one only seems to work on windowed mode, I don't understand why...

@Dock : I'm on 64-bit Windows 7 too, so that's weird. I'm not sure I understood : Does it work on windowed mode ?
I know AGS encounters some problems on some computers, but I absolutely don't know why and I haven't seen any reports of these problems on AGS forums...

Cosr says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 7:44am

That was lovely. Great on mood and humour. The writing was generally very well done, nice dialog overall, and the few typos certainly don't ruin it. I'll have to play through again sometime (not now because there's more LD games to play) to see more of the dialog.

You say in your post-mortem that you felt you could have been more expressive if you were writing in French (or something like that). If you were to do a French version sometime in the future, I'd be interested in playing that (French is supposed to be my second language, but I'm crazy out of practice).

Pierrec says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Thanks. I think there is gonna be a french translation. I'll post it on Ludum Dare when it will be done.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]