Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Leave my Lettuce Alone :( - NeiloGD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Whilst your owner is away, you, a black cat, have been left to guard
the family's lettuce patches. It's currently breeding season for rabbits,
so there are lots of hungry kittens about.

Controls are very simple, the black cat will always follow your cursor,
and the rabbits will be avoiding the black cat whilst also trying to eat
all of the lettuce. The rabbits hate being seperated, so what you need to
do is try to split them up so they get scared and run away whilst simultaneously
preventing the lettuce patches from being eaten!

All game code is written in C++, and my own engine, Psybrus, was used.

PS: It is known to work in Linux under Wine, and also runs in OSX with Wine.

View NeiloGD's journal. | View all entries by NeiloGD

Ratings

Coolness79%
#36Community3.60
#40Innovation3.62
#56Fun3.28
#75Overall3.38
#87Graphics3.59
#88Humor2.89
#220Audio2.62
#365Mood2.29
#373Theme2.59

Comments

mooosh says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:46am

I couldn't get this to run (Windows 7), but it looks cool.

neilogd says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:24am

Only got XP at home (old machines), but I've got Vista in the office, so I'll give it a try out. That might be sufficiently new enough to test.

CaptainFresh says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:40am

Game didn't run.

neilogd says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:22am

Updated. Silly issue related to threading. Testing on an 8 core Windows Vista machine using threaded rendering. Should be a'ok now :)

zapaman says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:32am

Game ran great on my Windows 7 machine. The gameplay mechanics are interesting, although I had a hard time figuring out how exactly to win the stage! Great entry man, I love it :D

DeadlyFugu says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:25am

Ran fine for me...
AND IT WAS TOTALLY AWESOME.

Matt Rix says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:39pm

Nice game, ran great for me. I think the lettuce adds a lot to the gameplay of the game, rather than just splitting them up, you actually have to try to keep them away from the lettuce as well. The flocking mechanics are interesting, and actually seem quite believable, they really do seem like a bunch of silly flat bunnies hopping around.

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 2:28pm

OH MY GOD THEY ARE MULTIPLYING! :O

It is a really funny concept and I like the style of the game... but... could you PLEASE make a version where the cat can eat those... monsters? :D

Frib says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:05pm

Haha very nice, I gave up the second or third time when there were 3 rows... They always left in pairs D:

I really like the style of this game, well done

neilogd says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:25pm

Oh yeah they are multiplying :P I don't want them to be eaten :'( I am gonna do work on it post LD, so any suggestions made here I will take into account :)

I would tell you the trick, but there is a trick that I figured out whilst playing it. Them leaving in pairs is actually emergent, I didn't code it to do that :P

neilogd says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:26pm

*I would tell you the trick but I don't want to spoil it.

Hazard says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:48am

Great idea with a lovely style. :)

amodo says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:37pm

Very cute and an actual game with a real challenge. The only thing thats a little frustrating is the head start they get - hard to do a flawless victory ;) but... very adorable!

jeffz says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 12:08am

frustrating. need radius damage, sword slashing, magic spells and bombs. damn rabbits!

wbobeirne says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 3:40am

Impressive work, but didn't feel very 'alone'

Jan 6, 2012 @ 7:50am

You really start to think "leave my lettuce alone!"

dock says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:57am

The 'updated' version didn't run for me, but the original version worked great!. This is magnificent! I got stuck on a level, but I had lots of fun. I liked your hand written instructions, but some mistakes in the text made it hard to read. One of my favourite games of the event! :)

nickd3000 says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Froze on startup on my win 7 machine I'm afraid :(

ratking says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Very unique gameplay and graphics (I like the idea of using flat polygons for the characters)! I'm not exactly sure what I did right when I chased a rabbit away, but this is just a minor gripe. :)

Jan 8, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Really well done game, the core mechanic was solid and original, and every time I lost I knew it was my own fault. The graphics and sound really made the rabbits, cat, and lettuce seem believable. And the mechanic where the rabbits who are alone get scared and run away was an interesting take on the theme.

Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:08am

I like the unusual graphics style.

The gameplay is also pretty unusual. I think it's a neat idea. I'm impressed with the flocking behavior.

Sadly, the game isn't too fun for me. I just got bored after 6 levels or so. It needs something else I think.

Overall, good job!

callidus says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 1:35pm

w00t, I liked that one! really cool idea and the graphics style was original too. Good game, can get quite hard though. Full points for community as you did the shadow keynote too
:-D

Thief says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Fantastically innovative!

Kelly Thomas says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 4:12pm

love the 2d art

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]